issue #94 - the one when I figure out what's next

What’s next?

This is the question I’ve been asking myself lately. I’m closing some major things in my career - long-awaited, super big goals - which has left me feeling a little lost.

What do I do now? And why am I so unclear on the next step?

Dry January has taught me to sit in these uncomfortable feelings and process them fully, but that’s something I’ve never been particularly good at. I throw myself into work because I love the tangible outcomes and results that come from finishing a big project or hitting a major milestone.

But the simple question - what now? - is consuming me.

I have a pile of needlepoint canvases begging to be stitched. Stacks of books to be read. My kids to spend more time with. A podcast to resurrect.

Other than my kids, I’m not drawn to any of those things. I’m not really drawn to anything, except for maybe Crash Landing On You (the show I’m treating myself to once book edits and a major work thing are done).

I’d love to hear from you on how you navigate through these gray moments. Do you take up a new hobby? Watch all the shows to your hearts’ content? Do something brand new on a whim? I welcome any and all recommendations, and will share your wisdom in next week’s newsletter.

What we read this week

Hitha

  • People We Meet On Vacation by Emily Henry (out May 11) - do yourself a favor and pre-order this now because it is a vacation in a book and a GLORIOUS one at that. Best friends Poppy and Alex have taken “the trip” every summer for 12 years, until an incident causes them to lose touch and abandon tradition. There are so many things I love about this book - Poppy’s career as a travel influencer-turned-journalist, Alex’s secret weirdness that only Poppy can draw out, and the magic of friendship and love. It’s absolutely WONDERFUL.

  • The Devil and the Heiress by Harper St. George (out June 29) - if you’re having Bridgerton withdrawals, then meet the Crenshaw sisters. Elder sister August’s story is captured in The Heiress Gets A Duke, but younger sister Violet and the aforementioned Duke’s friend, The Earl of Leigh are the focus of this one. St. George brings the best of The Gilded Age to Regency romance in this series, and the second book exceeded my already high expectations.

  • The Untethered Soul: The Journey Beyond Yourself by Michael A Singer - I got this book in the mail from a friend who has been telling me that I need to read it for TWO whole years. I happened to receive it right at a time when I was looking for something to help me through a few major life transitions. I’m not super into the woo woo, but this is the perfect amount of woo to help me understand myself and the beautiful and sad things happening around me.

  • These Ghosts Are Family by Maisy Card - This novel, about a man who fakes his own death, the family he left behind in Jamaica, and the family he builds in New York, is intricate and delicate and ALL. THE. GOOD. THINGS. It's one of my favorite reads of recent years and one that I hope more people will pick up. I can't wait to see what debut author Maisy Card does next!

  • Intercepted by Alexa Martin - This book is pure fun. A love story involving the NFL and black characters? It was a great read from start to finish.

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday (Hiwote)

Wednesday

Thursday (Marisa)

Friday (LaToya)

Things we love this week

Hitha

Hiwote

  • I am currently IN LOVE with Caroline Girvan and her free workout programs. She’s a personal trainer based out of Ireland and her workouts are the hardest at-home workouts I’ve ever done (including paid online workout classes). And because most of her workouts are part of a ten week program, I’m actually consistent! I’m currently on day 26 of her EPIC II program.

Marisa

  • I started using this serum late last year and have been thrilled with the results. For the first time in my life I actually have something approaching lustrous lashes!

LaToya

  • I might be the last convert to Bio Oil, but I am now in the tribe. The oil smells amazing, is light weight, not greasy and leaves my skin so soft. Soft like I was scrubbed down and then massaged with oils at the spa, soft. I will never be without it again.

Take care of yourself, and please share #5SmartReads if you’re enjoying them!

Reply

or to participate.