issue #92 - the one about security blankets

On revisiting our old favorites instead of chasing the new

Do you have a security blanket?

I don’t mean an actual blanket (though Rhaki has claimed the pink-and-white blanket I treasured as a toddler). Instead, I mean the little things - books, shows, movies, foods, certain clothes - that bring pure comfort when everything is chaotic.

I’ve been leaning on my various security blankets in the past few months. I began my upteenth rewatch of Bridgerton last night (after blazing through the first three books), just finished a re-read of the All Souls Trilogy, have been living in my Encircled sweatpants, and make clean-out-the-fridge pasta more times than I care to admit.

I even ordered Taco Bell for an early lunch.

At one time, I thought I needed to regret not cooking/watching/reading/wearing all the new things. Now, I find such comfort in them and actively seek them out when work and life is filled with new things.

This week was a balance of new things on the work front and comforts in my leisure time. I launched a jewelry collection with The Accessory Junkie this week (which is still available to shop) and debuted #5SmartReads Live on Clubhouse (every day was a little too much, but I’ll be continuing it on Mondays/Wednesdays/Fridays).

I’d love to know what your security blankets are. And I hope your weekend is filled with comfort, rest, and something delicious.

xo,Hitha

What I read this week

  • Happy Endings by Thien-Kim Lam (out May 18th) - this is one of the most instructive romance novels I’ve ever read. A former couple is reunited unexpectedly in Washington DC - Andre (a chef and mixologist) and Trixie (a pleasure seller and aspiring therapist). It was a thoroughly enjoyable, steamy, quick read that will also make you hungry with the references of New Orleans cuisine.

  • The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna - I’ve gushed about this book in detail here, so I’ll spare you too much gushing. But I will leave you with my highest endorsement and to implore you to pick up a copy as quickly as possible.

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Things I love this week

Take care of yourself, and please share #5SmartReads if you’re enjoying them!

Reply

or to participate.