issue #89 - the one about the concept of care

Qudsiya Naqui on care in the disability community - and what the rest of us can learn

Since the inauguration of our 46th President, I’ve been thinking a lot about his central message of unity and the importance of caring for one another. It’s pretty on-brand with my recent deep dive into the concept of care—how we give it, how we receive it, and how we value it.

As a blind woman of color, my first stop was Care Work: Dreaming Disability Justice by disability justice activist Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha. Disabled people, particularly disabled BIPOC fems of color often form the backbone of care, have developed creative ways to give and receive it, and this work is almost always undervalued.

I loved the concept of reciprocal care webs that Leah Lakshmi describes, and the ways in which we can show people that we value the care they give us. It gives me joy that narratives like these are being published more widely because they pull us completely outside of the boxes we often put ourselves in and allow us to completely reimagine the world and how we relate in it. I’m not really a believer in New Year’s resolutions, but I do know I want to spend time this year building my care web and reflecting on how I can value the people who give care in my life.

Best,

What we read this week

  • Far from the Tree: Parents, Children, and the Search for Identity by Andrew Solomon- This is one of my favorite nonfiction titles, by psychologist Andrew Solomon. It centers on the experiences of parents who raise children who are fundamentally different from them—whether it’s a hearing parent raising a deaf child, or a cisgender parent raising a transgender child. As a blind child of sighted parents, this book really hit home for me, but I think it’s an important read for parents in general, as it offers deep insights into the parent-child relationship more broadly

  • The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon- I read this book as part of a book club, and it’s a great example of how book clubs can introduce you to books you wouldn’t have otherwise read. Set in 1940s Barcelona, it’s an epic mystery that traces the history of a mysterious book and its author. This was a total page-turner, and great fun. Perfect for pandemic entertainment as it will totally transport you.

  • Mediocre by Ijeoma Oluo- It is brilliant, full stop. It's helping me process the Capitol insurrection through Oluo's comprehensive historical grounding. It also orients the reader to the very real problems of White male mediocrity in a country built to protect White privilege.

  •  Exit West by Mohsin Hamid- A novel about an unnamed war torn country, where the main characters find each other in the midst of all of the challenges associated with such a backdrop. The story line is one part Narnia mixed with one part current events and a whole lot of beautiful writing. While it's not the neat package I prefer in a novel, it's a powerful read on a poignant topic.

  • Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi - Penny Lee is an awkward college freshman and meets Sam at a coffee shop. Sam is in a very stuck stage of his life, and when he has a panic attack, Penny rescues him. Soon they begin a textual relationship sharing all their dreams and secrets and hopes for the future. Read this if you love stories with nuanced characters, if you like Sex Education of Netflix, or any movies with angsty teens.

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday (Kate)

Wednesday (Beth and Katie)

Thursday (Shibani)

Friday

Things we love this week

Qudsiya

  • I bought this humidifier as a Christmas gift for my partner, but it’s one of those gifts that we’ve both benefited from. Unlike most humidifiers, which are quite ugly, this one is cute, compact, and even includes a scent diffuser. It’s really helped us hydrate in the dry winter months as we spend so much time inside

  • If you’re like me and always want your home smelling delightful, I highly recommend these candles from Sacred Space. Not only will you be supporting a Black-owned business and enjoying handmade, beautiful candles, but you’ll also receive lovely personalized notes from Simone, the company’s owner. I order refills regularly.

  • In my quest to support local businesses and sip on delicious hot beverages, I’ve fallen in love with this DC tea shop, which ships tea all over the country. This is a Black-owned establishment, located in the historic Shaw neighborhood of Washington—site of countless civil rights actions that you can learn about on this awesome self-guided walking tour if you’re ever in town. My favorite is the Mandela masala tea because it takes me back to afternoons drinking tea with my parents, who I haven’t seen for many months.

Kate

Beth and Katie

  • Olive oil and Avocado oil have so many similarities in fat content and are both rich in additional benefits to the body and skin BUT avocado oil has a higher smoking/burning level. So, if you are one who likes to cook hot and fast, try switching it up in the kitchen. This price is amazing, and trust me we have checked!

Shibani

  • There's something so nostalgic about Olive Garden salad, and I love making the salad at home. You can buy the dressing at Target, your local grocery store, and on Amazon!

Take care of yourself, and please share #5SmartReads if you’re enjoying them!

Reply

or to participate.