issue #85 - the first one of 2021

Well. That was a week.

I was glued to the news and Twitter for most of it, and gave myself a mild concussion in the middle of it (in the lamest of ways - getting my bag from the basket under my kid’s stroller and bumping my head on the corner of a table in the process).

  1. It’s been insane.

I don’t have any answers or advice or explanation for what the hell is going on (though I do recommend you read this and this). But in the words of my favorite Peloton instructor, “may your rest be revolutionary.”

For me, that means working through a pile of 500 piece puzzles with my older son, napping with my younger one, and re-reading Alyssa Cole’s excellent Reluctant Royals series (which is all my brain can handle right now).

I also wanted to share some exciting news about the book I’m writing. It’s titled WE’RE SPEAKING, and is an advice book inspired by our incoming Madam Vice President. The week’s events - the attempted coup at the Capitol and her Vogue cover - have definitely given me more material to include, but I’m honored to do so.

My friend Laura helped design a small merch collection in honor of VP-Elect Harris and the book. Orders are open for the next 12 days, and will be printed and shipped shortly after.

A reminder that you can EARN perks and merch when you refer new readers to #5SmartReads! Create and share your unique referral link here, and you can also track how many referrals you make.

What we read this week

Marisa

  • Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane - I'm pretty much never one to turn down a multi-generational family saga. This book takes that genre and tips it a little bit on its head, as a) the families in question aren't filthy rich Manhattanites; b) in fact, the characters are from a type of family that rarely gets its due in fiction as anything more than an explanation for why the kids are so screwed up - the families are not financially well off, feature divorced and absentee parents and children being raised by extended family, etc.; c) there is no key piece of family property or history that is being fought over; and d) most of the book takes place in times that would be contemporaneous to a Gen-X or elder Millennial reader - this would not fall into what I'd call "historical fiction." It's an engrossing read about how our childhoods do and don't define us, and one I'd definitely recommend.

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday (curated by Marisa)

Wednesday (curated by Abra)

Thursday

Friday

Things we love this week

Marisa

  • I really cannot explain how much this robo-vac has changed my life for the better. It's like the crockpot of vacuums - you set-it and forget it and it does a better job at the task than you would've done by yourself anyway!

Abra

  • This dpHue color conditioner keeps my hair color looking fresh between appointments. It also blends in my increasingly grey roots if I miss an appointment. Plus, the conditioner keeps your locks soft and smooth.

Keep calm, cover your face when you leave your house, wash your hands, and stay safe my friend.

xo,HPN

Reply

or to participate.