• Only Smart Things
  • Posts
  • issue #76 - the one where I will do my best to avoid election talk

issue #76 - the one where I will do my best to avoid election talk

Instead, I’m going to share my joy triggers. When I’m feeling down, I indulge in one of these to reset my mental state:

  • I play my hype playlist while getting ready every morning and while I’m easing into the work day (writing my to-do list, journaling)

  • this playlist of some of my Broadway favorites (some familiar, some obscure) never fails to put a smile on my face. It’s great when you’re tidying, cooking dinner, or just jumping around and singing at the top of your lungs.

  • money dates. (Northwestern Mutual is a longtime sponsor, but this mention is not sponsored. I just personally find the money dates that my advisor suggested to be super helpful and thought you might as well)

  • dance parties. ALWAYS.

  • taking a bath in the middle of the day.

  • picking up my Kindle instead of my phone and reading a chapter of a Regency romance instead of doomscrolling.

  • going to sleep early.

  • wearing my pretty pajamas every night to bed.

What’s your joy trigger? I’d love to know.

Also, please vote.

What I read and loved

Hitha

  • The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson - Megha’s recommendation sold me on this book, and it DID NOT DISAPPOINT. I’m a sucker for time travel and the multiverse, but this genre lacks diversity on all fronts. Which made this book all the more refreshing - it’s a stellar science fiction book that happens to be diverse. This is Micaiah Johnson’s first book, and I sorely hope it won’t be her last.

Shibani

  • Recipe for Persuasion by Sonali Dev - a second chance interracial romance set around a Food Network celebrity cooking show. Perfect brain candy!

The Top 5

All the smart reads

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday (curated by Shibani Faehnle)

Thursday

Friday

Things I love this week

Hitha

  • After watching Rho head to school in too-short pants for the past week, I finally ordered him some new ones. We stocked up on Lark Adventurewear’s coziest joggers (and the matching sweatshirts). On Old Navy, I bought a few pairs of these quick-dry pants, this amazingly nerdy shirt, and this bomber sweater that I couldn’t resist. And then I bought this jumpsuit for myself.

  • After standing in the cold rain for two hours last week to vote, I came home to a delivery from Poppy. They sent me their Harvest Moon kit as an early Deepavali gift, and zoning out and arranging flowers for an hour was just blissful. If you want to bring a little fall beauty into your home, you can use code HITHA10 to get 10% off your order.

  • A few new beauty favorites that have soared to forever status - Aavrani’s Glow Activating Exfoliator (a cleanser-mask that will literally leave you glowing), Equilibria’s Daily Treatment Oil (packed with full-spectrum CBD and sweet almond, olive sqalane, and other active oils), and Tatcha’s The Pearl (tinted eye cream that has me skipping undereye concealer these days - I wear it in Softlight).

  • I’ve been on the 3 cups of coffee/day (and starting to need a fourth), which has been brutal on my stomach. My friend Brett recommended MUD\WTR - a low caffeine elixir made from herbs, cacao, and adaptogens - which has helped SO much. The taste takes some getting used to (it’s *very* earthy), but the creamer definitely helps. It’s not quite the same as my Nespresso latte, but it also has lowered my caffeine jitters and acid reflux while keeping me awake at my desk. I’ll take it.

  • Perimenopause had me on the hunt for new bras and life had me hunting for new underwear, and I am OBSESSED with Okko (which I shared a peek of here). Their wirefree bras and seamless briefs are the most comfortable ones I own, and I’m very sad when they’re in the wash. They’re also more affordable than similar DTC intimates brands (the bra retails for $39, and the briefs for $14), and the quality is incredible.

Shibani

If you like what I’m sending, please forward it with someone you love (or someone you don’t). Or both. Everyone could use some smart reads in their life.

xo,HPN

Reply

or to participate.