issue #72 - the week that’s been 10 years one

I can’t even talk about this week.

But here’s what I have the energy to say:

VOTE. WEAR A MASK. AND STOP DOOMSCROLLING AND START READING AND WATCHING ALL THE WITCHY THINGS.

And, if you can, join me for one of these events I’m joining this week:

Anyway. That’s it from me. Stay safe, stay healthy, and stay at home whenever you can.

What we read and loved

Hitha

  • Watch Over Me (c/o of Penguin Teen) - this modern ghost story is haunting, beautiful, and the perfect read to kick off October and all my favorite witchy/vampire/ghost reads to put me in the fall mood. I loved watching Mila’s story unfold, her past and present meld together, and for this beautiful, brief read.  I had a sponsored project with Penguin Teen on IG Stories to promote this book’s launch, but all opinions are my own.

  • Magic Lessons (ARC provided by NetGalley, out October 6) - I re-read (and re-watch) Practical Magic every October, and I’m so thrilled that I have Magic Lessons to add to the rotation. It’s an even earlier prequel of the series, following the story of Maria Owens (the matriarch of the Owens line). I loved this book, though it’s more tragic than the other two in the series and slightly heartbreaking. But certainly worth reading.

Emily

  • Frontier Grit: The Unlikely True Stories of Daring Pioneer Women - The history of women's role on the frontier isn't something I was taught in school - this book profiles 12 women who forged their own paths.

Emma

  • 40-Love - I am here for an older women getting a hot man who worships her! She's 40 and he's 26, will their connection go beyond a resort fling? Loved this steamy read that pulled me out of a reading slump!

The top 5

All the smart reads

Monday (curated by Emily)

Tuesday 

Wednesday 

Thursday

Friday (curated by Emma Cardenas)

Things I Love This Week

  • October is WITCHY MONTH, and here’s what I’m re-reading and re-watching:

  • Hocus Pocus - A CLASSIC and Rho watched it for the first time this weekend. 

    • Witches Of East End - I prefer the show over the books, and I bought the series off iTunes.

    • The All Souls Trilogy -  I prefer the books over the first season of the show. This is my all-time favorite witchy/supernatural series, and I re-read it every year.

    • Magic Lessons, The Rules Of Magic, Practical Magic - I read the trilogy in chronological order and then end with the film. 

    • I’m still reconciling JK’s transphobia with the incredible world she created. I haven’t re-read or re-watched Harry Potter since her original comments were made, and jury’s out if this is the year I pick them back up.

    • The Craft - another classic, though I’ll watch this solo one random night when everyone is asleep.

  • Do yourself a favor and get this top and the matching pants for your new fall WFH uniform. It’s insanely comfortable and flattering and you’ll want to live in it forever.

  • Emily - I do not have the bandwidth to follow twitter but this podcast makes me feel like I'm at least keeping up.

  • Emma - I absolutely loved this chat between Mirna Valerio and Rich Roll. They discuss Mirna smashing stereotypes, running on her terms, and racism in the outdoor community. Her positive attitude is infectious and you'll come away more knowledgable after listening to this episode.

Looking for my favorite things? You can find them here.

If you like what I’m sending, please forward it with someone you love (or someone you don’t). Or both. Everyone could use some smart reads in their life.

xo, HPN

Reply

or to participate.