issue 67 - the one with a little more context

So if you don’t follow me on Instagram, you were probably surprised by the new names here. 

Here’s the very delayed explanation. 

A few weeks ago, I had shared that I was burned out and would love to bring on some guest curators for #5SmartReads. The response was incredible, and I really enjoyed reading each contributors’ articles and commentary. 

And I really appreciated the break. It was the best investment I made (yes, I am paying every published contribution). 

There will still be 2-3 guest curators a week as we go into fall, and I’ll be bringing on a few to contribute on a regular basis so I can bring back the podcast and write in-depth pieces. 

I hope you enjoyed the curations last week, and I hope you enjoy Devon, Analisa, and Tushita’s picks as well. 

And if you don’t follow me on Instagram, I hope you will! If you need a better-for-you sweet treat (#ad), to create a voting planto get your finances under control (#ad), or want to learn more about the cannabis industry, I got you. And because it needs to be said loudly and publicly by us all - Black Lives Matter.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend. Ours will be spent playing with the kids, cooking whatever we have in the fridge, and spending as much time off my phone as possible.

What we read and loved

Hitha

  • The New Chardonnay (copy gifted by the publisher) - this is a fascinating look at the mainstream journey of cannabis, tracing the stories of the obvious players (Snoop Dogg) and the unlikely ones (Beth Stavola, Bruce Linton) and how they're leading one of the most valuable - and highly regulated - industries in the modern economy. If you loved Bad Blood or Bottle Of Lies, you will LOVE this book. What makes The New Chardonnay stand above is how forward looking this book is, versus a recap of what's already happened. Cabot expertly weaves the history and the future of this industry with clear and engaging prose and a motley cast of characters that you respect and admire. It's also refreshing to read a book that unapologetically addresses the deep racial discrimination in this space. Black Americans are disproportionately sentenced to the maximum term for marijuana possession when compared to White Americans, and Cabot expertly weaves and discusses the racial disparity in the cannabis space throughout the book. 

  • Snapped (ARC provided by NetGalley, out in December) - Alexa Martin writes about the many issues I have with football - and the NFL in particular - so clearly and in such an engaging manner in her Fumbled trilogy. Snapped - inspired by Colin Kaepernick’s taking a knee, racism in the league, and shedding light on the utter lack of support to football players in the 90’s - is her finest book of the series. It touches on so many issues while keeping the electric chemistry between a fiery heroine and the football player she ends up falling for. Preorder this one now, and start with Intercepted if you haven’t read it yet.  

Devon

  • Shameless plug: my debut novel, Meet You In The Middle, is an enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy that follows two rival Senate staffers who fall in love across the aisle. I’m so proud of the book and its message of seeing the person beyond the label (especially this year!) It’s swoony and laugh-out-loud funny and you don’t have to take my word for it—just ask Hitha! 😀 The book releases May 4, 2021, and you can preorder it on Amazon or Bookshop.org

  • The book I’ve loved the most during quarantine is called You Deserve Each Other by Sarah Hogle. It’s the story of a couple who are unhappily engaged (I promise it’s a rom com!) Naomi wants to call off the wedding but doesn’t want to get stuck holding the tab, so she sets out to see if she can get Nicholas to dump her first—but is he actually trying to win her back? Come for the snarky banter and pranking, stay for the brilliant writing and emotional punch you won’t see coming. I’d love to see this one as a movie! 

Analisa

  • Dread Nationis post-civil war and dead-soldiers-turned-zombies begin to walk the battlefields of Gettysburg and terrorize the country. In this new America, laws like the 'Native and Negro Education Act' (ahem, American Indian boarding schools were a very real and cruel thing and Justina is definitely drawing parallels here) require children to attend 'combat' schools to learn how to kill the zombies ('the dead'). Jane is our heroine, and the undead end up being the least of her problems. 

Tushita

  • Atomic Habits offers a clear (ha) way to get your life on track by building habits and breaking bad ones. A good read for anyone struggling or feeling lost with their daily routines and goals. As Clear says, “You do not rise to the level of your goals. You fall to the level of your systems.” 

All the smart reads

Monday (curated by Devon Daniels

Tuesday 

Wednesday (curated by Analisa Cantu

Thursday 

Friday (curated by Tushita

Things I Love This Week

  • Equilibria’s CBD products - along with meditation, exercise, offline time, and wine - have kept me sane pre- and during the pandemic. I sleep better when I take the extra strength drops before bed, the softgels help balance out my moods on a daily basis, and the relief creambath bombs, and bath soak help with the body pain that comes with aging and working out. I also love the aromatherapy rollers - I keep the energizing one at my desk and the calming one in my nightstand. If you’re just starting out, I recommend the Brilliance Box - Mint.  Equilibria’s sale right now is insane - 15% off sitewide, and another 15% off when you use my code hitha. I’ll be stocking up on…well, everything. 

  • Rho has been absolutely obsessed with this toy - coloring the animals, cleaning them off, repeat. I am obsessed with the moments of quiet and calm while he plays with it.

  • I rewatched Center Stage for the first time in years (it’s free with ads on Amazon Prime), and I think I love it even more than I did 20 years ago. Also, Center Stage is 20 years old. The hell? 

  • I’d been hunting for a lightweight moisturizer with SPF, and Sun Project Water Sun Cream is exactly what I was looking for. Great protection, no white cast, and leaves my skin feeling hydrated but not greasy. If you’re looking for something even lighter, they have an SPF essence that has great reviews. 

  • Devon: I'm currently loving the Hamilton soundtrack, dance parties with my kids (preferably to cheesy 90’s pop music), and these dog videos I can’t get enough of. 

  • Analisa: Auden brand bralettes are my latest WFH style win. If you like a little support during the day, but also don't want to deal with underwire, these are IT. "Barely there" is the best way to describe them. 

  • Tushita: This bra is supportive, comfortable and has become my WFH go-to! It truly feels like you're wearing nothing. It's hard to find comfortable AND affordable options when you're busty (I'm a 34DD/DDD) -- M fits me perfectly. 

Looking for my favorite things? You can find them here

If you like what I’m sending, please forward it with someone you love (or someone you don’t). Or both. Everyone could use some smart reads in their life.

xo, HPN

Reply

or to participate.