issue #65 - the one about omelettes

There’s an omelette, and there’s a French omelette.

And then there’s Selena Gomez learning how to cook on HBO Max, and that is my latest obsession.

Selena + Chef is what I discovered one night, after my husband and I watched our nightly Watchmen episode and I had to get back to work.

Listen, Watchmen is amazing. But Selena + Chef is clearly a show created in and for quarantine, and I am so here for it.

Watching Selena make a cheese soufflé and ask her grandmother ‘do I like nutmeg?’ filmed in static, awkward angles is the content we need.

I have talked openly about how difficult the past month has been for me on Instagram. But this show reminded me that this period has nothing to do with perfection, but just making it through with as much joy as possible.

It’s not about perfection. But it’s about finding little moments of perfection in the chaos of life.

And it’s about shaking the pan while you cook your eggs, because that apparently is the trick for a perfect omelette.

From this week on, I’ll be welcoming guest curators of #5SmartReads. Emma Cardenas curated Wednesday’s reads, and also shared a book and podcast recommendation as well.

What We Read This Week

Hitha

Finding Freedom - I don’t even care how salacious or exaggerated this book is. It read like a real life The Royal We and I am here for it. And juxtaposed with Meghan’s interview on The 19th*, I frankly feel it’s more aligned with the truth than everything that’s been published by the British press. I personally am waiting for Elizabeth Holmes’ take on the book, but I highly recommend you read this for yourself.

40-Love - I am here for an older women getting a hot man who worships her! She's 40 and he's 26, will their connection go beyond a resort fling? Loved this steamy read that pulled me out of a reading slump!

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday (curated by Emma Cardenas)

Friday

Random things we love

  • Absolutely loved this chat between Mirna Valerio and Rich Roll. They discuss Mirna smashing stereotypes, running on her terms, and racism in the outdoor community. Her positive attitude is infectious and you'll come away more knowledgable after listening to this episode.

From Hitha

  • My body skin is in great shape because of two products - Talula’s body butter (gifted) and my Luvscrub. The Talula body butter is really rich and does have a light fragrance, which I personally love. The Luvscrub was recommended by Grace, and is just the best body wash sponge/exfoliator/back scratcher.

  • I’ve had the biggest sweet tooth lately, and these Sun-Maid Bites and Smart Sweet gummy bears have helped curb it. Smart Sweets have a ton of fiber per bag so…consume carefully.

  • Watching Rho and Rhaki finally play together is such a joy. This sensory table (which we sanded down and spray painted red) is where they spend a solid 20 minute stretch playing happily together before things inevitably devolve. We’ve owned it since last summer, and I think it’ll last until the boys outgrow it.

  • I’ve talked about it before, but the Our Place pan is one of my favorite kitchen tools ever - and things ever. Last night I steamed a bag of frozen stir-fry veggies in the basket, and prepared a Thai red curry with tofu in the pan. Easy to use, easy to clean, and I love the pale pink color.

Hope you’re surviving Leo season better than I am. Happy Sunday, friends. And a very happy week ahead.

xo,HPN

Reply

or to participate.