issue #62 - the slightly unsettled one

We returned home to New York this week.

Well, my husband and I did to clean and organize and get our home ready for the boys.

It was good to be back. But it took a little while for it to feel like home again.

Tuesday felt like we were in someone else’s home. Everything felt familiar, like you were in a place you’ve rented before. Wednesday felt a little more comfortable. Thursday more so, and I spent most of the day Friday rearranging and assembling furniture to create a home office for my husband and rearrange my father’s to accommodate mine.

Now it feels like home.

We’re bringing the boys home tomorrow, and I cannot wait to settle back into our home, our routine, and our new normal as we continue to live through a pandemic. 

Mask up, folks. 

Books, books, books!

  • Homegoing - it might be a bold claim to make halfway through the year, but this is and will be the best book I read in 2020. It is SPECTACULAR. The book begins in Ghana in the late 1600’s and with two half sisters - who don’t know each other - and their descendants’ stories over 8 generations. It addresses the cruelty in our history - slavery, racism, Jim Crow, colorism, addiction, the general struggle to survive if you’re Black or mixed no matter where you are - with stunning prose and complex characters. I have not stopped talking about this book for the past week.

  • The Voting Booth (c/o Libro.fm) - I’m a sucker for an audiobook with multiple narrators, and a bigger sucker for a book that cherishes our right to vote with a meet cute thrown in at the beginning. I see so much of my high school self in Marva (unapologetically smart and grounded in her convictions), and Duke is exactly the kind of guy 18-year old Hitha would have fallen for. Brandy Colbert masterfully wove in important social issues - the deep-seated fear of law enforcement, voter suppression, colorism - in an incredibly sweet novel that made me smile. 

  • Too Much And Never Enough - I had every intention of skipping this book, but watching Mary Trump’s interview with George Stephanopolous changed my mind. I’m only a few chapters in, but I’m blown away by her writing, her psychological assessment of her family, and just the things she writes. Compared to all the other books - Fire & Fury, Fear, Born Trump - this one is feels truly revealing and I frankly can’t wait to finish it.

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday 

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday 

#proudinvestor moments this week!

  • Girls’ Night In launched The Lounge, a private community to connect and make new friends. Alisha and her team have been hard at work on this for years, and I’m so thrilled that it’s finally live! I’m delighted to be joining as a Lounger-In-Residence, so please sign up and then come to my event :)

  • Brightland (whose olive oil I rave about) just launched vinegars! I cannot wait to try them and drizzle Rapture all over the roma tomatoes and basil that are growing in my pots. 

  • Small Packages was featured on Good Morning America! Their newest Give Back box is filled with all Black-owned businesses and 10% of profits are donated to the National Bail Fund Network. They are early committers of the @15percentpledge as well, and I expected nothing less.

Looking for my favorite things? You can find them here.

If you like what I’m sending, please forward it with someone you love (or someone you don’t).

And if you haven’t, please consider upgrading to the paid subscription! You’ll get the daily #5SmartReads newsletter and my undying gratitude.

xo, HPN

Reply

or to participate.