issue #57 - the unremarkable one

It was a week like any other. A weekend like most.

There were back-to-back Zoom calls. Too many worksheets printed and completed by Rho. Too many rounds of ‘put the ball in the box!’ with Rhaki. A decent number of books read (all romance, and all excellent). Too many cups of coffee consumed, and not enough hours of sleep.

It’s the same day, lived over and over and over and over again. And while this week just feels a little bit different (Rho’s last week of school, making some big decisions on work projects, buying Rhaki his first pair of shoes because he’s RUNNING), it’s still got the same old same old that has made the past 3 months feel like years.

That said, we are still in a global pandemic. So wear your mask. Please and thank you.

If you need a mid-week-pick-me-up, come join Soha and I for a yoga workout at 5:30 pm ET/2:30 pm PT! We’ll be going Live on Instagram, and all we ask is that you make a donation to Youth Represent before the workout. If you’d like a calendar invite, just hit reply! And we’re working on the honor system here, so please donate whatever you can afford and get ready to flow with us!

If this is your first e-mail from me, welcome! In addition to writing the book How To Pack, I'm an entrepreneur and angel investor, an avid reader, and a mom of two boys (a 5 year old and a 1 year old).

Every Saturday, I share the 25 best reads from the Internet (culled from the daily shares on my Instagram), the books I've read that week, and things I'm generally loving at the moment. You can join the conversation on all these articles - and more! - in my Facebook group.

Looking for my packing list template? Here you go!

Be Anti-Racist. Do These.

#ThingsILove This Week

What I read this week

  • Real Men Knit (ARC provided by NetGalley) - give me a complicated family dynamic, relationships formed in childhood, and crafting and New York and I’m in heaven. And thanks to Kwana Jackson’s masterful writing, this book had me with a sappy grin on my face throughout most of it. I loved the push/pull of Kerry and Jesse’s relationship, Jesse’s meddling brothers, and the support of a tight-knit community that keeps nudging them together. This book was WONDERFUL.

  • Something To Talk About (ARC provided by NetGalley) - this book had Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo and Red, White, And Royal Blue vibes, but stood out as the jewel of a book that it is. I spend the book falling a little more in love with Emma, Jo, and the budding relationship between Emma AND Jo. Meryl Wilsner shined a bright light - a dazzling and honest one - on the business of Hollywood, and drew us into a love story that I just loved. Another wonderful romance.

  • Queen Move - another romance, because that’s all my brain can handle right now. A first love reunited is a trope I’m always here for. But throw in an ex and a child, a politically famous family, interracial AND interreligious conflict, meddling families, and fertility issues, and only a masterful author like Kennedy Ryan could have pulled off this book - which is one of the steamiest I’ve ever read, and just beautifully written. Ezra and Kimba forever, and I have Ryan’s All The King’s Men duet on deck next.

I’m building outmy Bookshop store, which will house all my favorite books in all the categories. Please consider purchasing your books throughBookshopandLibro.fm(use code HITHA for 3 free books when you start a membership) to support independent bookstores!

Hitha’s Favorite Things

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Reply

or to participate.