issue #54 - the one about my dining table, my desk, and my bed

These spaces are all my office.

My workday begins in bed, where I post #5SmartReads to my Instagram Stories before anything else. One of my kids is usually climbing all over me while I do this, so I’ve begun to screenshot each article and write my analysis the day before. Once that’s done, I’m with the boys until it’s time for Rho’s school morning meeting.

The morning is spent working at the dining table, sitting between my father and Rho. It’s a blur of keeping Rho occupied with Zoom sessions and worksheets and books, impromptu meetings with my father on all the things in the business, and trying to respond to e-mails. Trying, but often not succeeding.

Once Rho’s final school session is complete and lunch has been eaten, I head up to my room. If I have calls or Zooms scheduled, I settle into the desk I’ve set up in the corner of my bedroom. If it’s a ‘get the hard work done’ block (reading medical journals, updating spreadsheets and decks, doing research, writing), I climb into bed and work from there. Sometimes Rho will join me and watch a movie or shows on the iPad while I work, and sometimes I’m alone and listening to music (currently listening to both the Dixie Chicks and The Corrs). I love both situations.

Cultivating these spaces has helped bring a sense of ‘I got this’ to my work life right now. It’s a small sense of control over this uncontrollable situation we’re all living in, and especially helpful when you’re feeling completely overwhelmed and emotional and “aaaaaaaaaah!”

Two unrelated, but fun notes:

  1. If you have a Peloton account, PLEASE join our #smartnsweaty tag and hop on the app on Sunday at 2:30 pm ET/11:30 am PT for Aditi’s AHM Celebration yoga flow. If you don’t have a Peloton account, they’re offering 30 days free. I hope you join us!

  2. I did a fun interview with Gush & Grow about life right now.

If this is your first e-mail from me, welcome! In addition to writing the book How To Pack, I'm an entrepreneur and angel investor, an avid reader, and a mom of two boys (a 5 year old and a 10 month old).

Every Saturday, I share the 25 best reads from the Internet (culled from the daily shares on my Instagram), the books I've read that week, and things I'm generally loving at the moment. You can join the conversation on all these articles - and more! - in my Facebook group.

Looking for my packing list template? Here you go!

#ThingsILove This Week

  • I needed some new workout clothes, and Nicolette and Fallon convinced me to give Fabletics another try. They have made some INCREDIBLE design and quality upgrades since the last time I tried them (about 6 years ago). The Mila midi sports bra is miraculously supportive and don’t give you armpit fat (something I’ve faced with every sports bra and the reason I wear t-shirts while working out), and the Mila high-waisted pocket capris hold up perfectly during runs, yoga, or dance workouts (the capri is more a 7/8 legging on me, and I'm 5'4). If you'd like to give it a try, I recommend the Choose Your Colors Mila bundle and the Stunt 2-Piece Outfit (if you're into the biker short trend, which I most certainly am). The only downside to Fabletics is you'll have to search these items or outfits by name, since you have to create an account in order to browse. But I assure you it's worth it.

  • My friend Neha just relaunched Mother Untitled, and the new design and latest content are just so good. I found great comfort in reading her daily routine, have bookmarked all these projects, and so appreciated her candor in this essay on a 50/50 home life.

  • Lark Adventurewear just launched their shorties with a snap bottom, to make diaper changes a snap. It’s the perfect summer outfit for your tiny ones (incredibly breathable, offers great sun protection, and the quality is superb). I ordered 3 of them for Rhaki.

  • Our first Sonder Kids journal arrived this week, and Rho is OBSESSED. While I’m doing my daily brain dump in the weekly spread of my journal, he fills out the day’s page (with a lot of prompting and spelling assistance from me) and jumps into one of the activities in the book - the coloring page, the word search, or just a blank page to draw yet another picture of a dragon and its dragon master 😜

  • I’ve tried virtually every dance fitness streaming class out there, and nothing beats Forward Space. I feel like I’ve been transported from my parents’ basement into a party, the choreography is so much fun (grapevines feel much less aerobics and much more like dancing), and I can’t believe how fast the time goes by. It’s so much fun, and it will leave you so sore (so stock up on my favorite CBD cream and this little massager to relieve your sore muscles).

What I read this week

  • White Coat Diaries (ARC provided by NetGalley, out September 15th) - I should have DNF’ed (did not finish) this one, but I didn’t. It had all the things I’m gravitated towards in contemporary fiction - medical drama, complex protagonist, a questionable drug. That it was set in Philadelphia AND featured a South Asian woman had me drawn to it from the get go. The book had a lot of promise, but every character was so one-dimensional, the plot was predictable, and journey of Norah was lackluster. I would save your time and opt for one of the books I’m recommending below.

  • Meet You In The Middle (ARC provided by NetGalley, out September 8th) - on the complete other end of the spectrum is Meet You In The Middle, a politically charged romance with chemistry popping right off the page and great writing and the hate-to-love trope that I love. It reminded me of Fight Or Flight (another book I loved, one that my friend Ashley recommended), and I was very, very happy (and a little surprised) with the ending.

  • The Chiffon Trenches (physical book here) - just call this book Boston, because it is a TEA PARTY. Andre Leon Talley is brave, wickedly funny, and reveals the most incredible stories in his memoir. While he’s regaling you with stories of fashion’s most powerful, he weaves in race, sexuality, and sizism clearly and honestly. This audiobook will make you laugh. It’ll make you cry. And most importantly, it’ll make you think. Please get it, and if you’re not listening to books on Libro.fm, please allow me to help with the code HITHA (you’ll get 3 free audiobooks when you start a monthly subscription).

I also posted my review of The Boyfriend Project on my Instagram feed. Highly highly recommend, and you can get it early via Book Of The Month! You can also follow #readwithhitha on Instagram for my book reviews.

I’m building outmy Bookshop store, which will house all my favorite books in all the categories. Please consider purchasing your books throughBookshopandLibro.fm(use code HITHA for 3 free books when you start a membership) to support independent bookstores!

Hitha’s Favorite Things

  • Libro.fm is my favorite audiobook app (it credits your favorite independent bookstore with the sale). Use code HITHA to get 3 audiobooks for the price of 1 when you create a monthly membership. You can find my favorite audiobooks here.

  • This is the only book club I’m a member of

  • my Amazon shop

  • my favorite vitamins (both their pre-natal and their essential one for women). Use code HITHA for 10% off your first 3 months.

  • CBD has been a lifesaver for me. Get 20% off your first order with code HITHA.

  • my favorite produce delivery company that supports small farms in the process. Use code COOKWME-NM5DMZ for 25% off.

  • the app to save #5SmartReads to read later

  • MasterClass is worth every penny. I watch them while cooking meals, when I need a break, and when I’m feeling unmotivated and I’ve learned so much from it.

  • the notebook that has changed my life (see how I use it here and here). Get 15% off with code HITHA15.

  • the marriage check-in my husband and I do every single week

  • my favorite workout - and why. Use code G37YVV for $100 in accessories (spin shoes, weights, headphones - oh my!). You can also follow me on the app (I’m hithaonthegogo) to see what workouts I’m doing, and join our tag #smartnsweaty.

  • Small Packages (one of my portfolio companies) is the curated gift box company I’m always talking about - get 15% off your order with the code HITHA

  • my ultimate kitchen essential (and one of my portfolio companies)

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Reply

or to participate.