issue #37 - the very full, very busy, very chaotic one

This was a doozy of a week - a two-day video shoot, tons of meetings and podcast tapings, so many emails and calendar Tetris-ing, and all the pasta. One of them is live - my episode with Gee Thanks Just Bought This.

It also had some very fun things - Rho’s first piano lesson, cocktails with the other investors in HeymamaGrace’s 10 year anniversary party for The Stripe, and Lydia’s birthday party.

If this is your first e-mail from me, welcome! In addition to writing the book How To Pack, I'm an entrepreneur and angel investor, an avid reader, and a mom of two boys (a 4 year old and a 8 month old).

Every Saturday, I share the 25 best reads from the Internet (culled from the daily shares on my Instagram), the books I've read that week, and things I'm generally loving at the moment. You can join the conversation on all these articles - and more! - in my Facebook group.

Looking for my packing list template? Here you go!

#ThingsILove This Week

What I read this week

A quick note - I hope you reserve the books I recommend from your local library, or purchase them from your favorite independent bookstore or the audiobook fromLibro.fm. I’ll be usingBookstore Linkfor all my book links, which lets you find and order these books from your favorite indie bookstore online.

  • Tightrope (c/o Book Of The Month) - “What happened to the American Dream?” This has been on my mind a lot lately. And Tightrope answers it, heartbreakingly and honestly. And at the end, hopefully. This book is exhaustively researched and deeply empathetic to the American experience that I’ve never faced. It opened my heart and my eyes to just how vast and interconnected the problems are that have led us here - and how much work all of us have to do to fix it. Together. This is not an easy book to read. But it might be the most important book you read this year - and for a long time. Read it - with an open mind and an open heart. And then let’s get to work.

  • A Taste Of Sage (ARC provided by NetGalley) - after Followers and The Fight (ACLU book), I needed a brain candy book to reset my mind, and this was it. Two chefs - one having to close her restaurant and the other a famed one, collide in an expected way and inevitably fall in love and contend with drama and have some steamy moments together. It's a predictable and almost forgettable romance, but a good palate cleanser. A good library read.

Current book reviewshere, and here are all my random Amazon favorites.

Hitha’s Favorite Things

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Reply

or to participate.