issue #33 - the one with the best book I read this year

Spoiler alert - it's Such A Fun Age.

If this is your first e-mail from me, welcome! In addition to writing the book How To Pack, I'm an entrepreneur and angel investor, an avid reader, and a mom of two boys (a 4 year old and a 4 month old).

Every Saturday, I share the 20 best reads from the Internet (culled from the daily shares on my Instagram), the books I've read that week, and things I'm generally loving at the moment. You can join the conversation on all these articles - and more! - in my Facebook group.

Looking for my packing list template? Here you go!

#ThingsILove This Week

What I read this week:

  • A River Of Royal Blood - my friend Amber recommended this book, and it DID NOT DISAPPOINT. Give me royals, magic, and a sibling feud and I am here for it. This one had elements of Children Of Blood And Bone and Three Dark Crowns, and it was a fast, fun read and I can’t wait for the sequel.

  • Reputation (gifted by Dutton Books) - I’m admittedly not a thriller reader, but I loved Pretty Little Liars (the show) and Reputation is the author’s first adult novel. In true PLL nature, it kicks off with a murder and scandal plaguing a Pennsylvania town (this time, Pittsburgh) and it was such a satisfying read.

  • Such A Fun Age (ARC provided by NetGalley, out 12/31) - if I ever get around to writing a 2019 best books list, this would be on it. The way the book talks about race - both directly and as a plot device - is BRILLIANT. The writing is sharp and funny, the characters far more complex than they first appear, and it shines a light on white saviorism in a whole new way. It’s a must-read.

Current book reviewshere,every bookI’ve read this year, and all myAmazon favorites.

Hitha’s Favorite Things

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Reply

or to participate.