issue #31 - the one on a Monday

Where do you go to truly relax?

I have two spots - Glenmere Mansion, and my parents’ house.

I was at the latter on Friday, and any plans I had for work quickly disappeared as I collapsed into my favorite couch, curled up in a blanket, and slept.

For most of Friday, and even a good part of Saturday.

So this newsletter is coming two days late, but from a refreshed, somewhat relaxed Hitha.

If this is your first e-mail from me, welcome! In addition to writing the book How To Pack, I'm an entrepreneur and angel investor, an avid reader, and a mom of two boys (a 4 year old and a 4 month old).

Every Saturday, I share the 20 best reads from the Internet (culled from the daily shares on my Instagram), the books I've read that week, and things I'm generally loving at the moment. You can join the conversation on all these articles - and more! - in my Facebook group.

Looking for my packing list template? Here you go!

#ThingsILove This Week

  • Getting outside was the best thing I’ve done for myself this week. Whenever I was stressed, overwhelmed, exhausted - I went outside. I’d run an errand, walk to yoga, splurge on a coffee, or just wandered through the park and it cleared my head right up. It helped that New York had the most perfect fall weather this week.

  • Looking for a new fall bag? This one from Welden has been my go-to. It adds a little edge to every outfits and holds everything I need - the obvious wallet and keys, a book, my folding keyboard (recommended by Mary), my AirPods.

  • Dolly Parton is a living treasure, and this podcast goes deep into her life and career and impact and I’m here for it. Long live Dolly.

  • Random Amazon finds I love - this shower stool (shaving my legs is so much easier), a cozy fleece, and super soft beanies for the chillier weather.

  • This Ganni dress has been stalking me all over the Internet, and I finally bit the bullet. I’m so glad I did - it’s a splurge, but a comfortable and flattering and stylish one that I plan to wear forever.

What I read this week:

  • The Stars We Steal(ARC provided by NetGalley, available February 4) - this book had me at ‘for fans of Kiera Cass and Katharine McGee’, and I quite enjoyed it. If The Bachelor was limited to royals and the wealthy living in space because Earth is uninhabitable, you’d have The Stars We Steal. It was the ideal book for my overwhelmed brain - light, easy to keep up with, and predictable in a very comforting way. Think of this as a book equivalent to a pint of ice cream, a gravity blanket, and an old Amanda Bynes movie. It’s not as good as The Selection series or any of Katharine McGee’s books, but it’s perfect for when you want to read something new but don’t have the energy to get overwhelmingly invested.

Current book reviewshere,every bookI’ve read this year, and all myAmazon favorites.

Hitha’s Favorite Things

The Top 4

  1. Texas Police Officer Shoots and Kills Black Woman in Her Own Home (The Root)

  2. Women's Time Is Seen As Less Valuable Than Men's (InStyle) I’ve talked about Eve’s book Fair Play ad nauseam, and I’m mentioning it again. It will transform your relationships.

  3. One Night at Mount Sinai (The Cut)

  4. Molly Yeh Is Building an Empire on Tater Tots, Tahini, and Sprinkles (Glamour)

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Reply

or to participate.