issue #30 - the one where i have nothing clever to say

Burnout is real. And I’m in the midst of it.

This book helps, as does offline time.

If this is your first e-mail from me, welcome! In addition to writing the book How To Pack, I'm an entrepreneur and angel investor, an avid reader, and a mom of two boys (a 4 year old and a 4 month old).

Every Saturday, I share the 20 best reads from the Internet (culled from the daily shares on my Instagram), the books I've read that week, and things I'm generally loving at the moment. You can join the conversation on all these articles - and more! - in my Facebook group.

Looking for my packing list template? Here you go!

#ThingsILove This Week

What I read this week:

  • The Flatshare - smart, sweet, and just a wonderful book. You can’t help but fall in love with Tiffy (a quirky book editor) and Leon (a terminal care nurse) and their unconventional roommate situation, where Tiffy occupies the flat during the night and Leon during the day. The book quickly moves beyond a Netflix romantic comedy into a deeper story, one that touches on racism, abuse, and criminal justice reform. A big thanks to everyone on Instagram who recommended it.

  • Know My Name(gifted by Penguin Random House) - previously known as Emily Doe, she is the author of the powerful letter she read to Brock Turner. Know My Name is a brave, beautifully written memoir by Chanel Miller and is one of the best books I’ve ever read. My copy is dog-eared and highlighted, and I can’t help but go back to this line in the book: “He was the only who lost everything. I was just the nobody it happened to.” How many nobodies have suffered in silence to watch their attackers walk free and continue about their lives? Too many. We need change, and I believe Chanel’s brave actions and book will help turn the tide.

  • Royal Holiday - when Jasmine Guillory writes a book, I block out an afternoon to binge read it. Royal Holiday did not disappoint. Guillory focuses on Vivian Forest, the mother of the bold Maddie, and their winter vacation to England where Maddie is dressing the American duchess for the Christmas holidays. Vivian quickly hits it off with Malcom Hudson, the queen’s private secretary, and a touching story unfolds. It’s refreshing to see a more mature couple given the magical Guillory treatment, and I adored reading Vivian and Malcolm’s relationship evolve through the pages.

  • Anna K (gifted by Flatiron Books, coming out March 3, 2020) - what if Anna and Vronksy were teenagers and raised in affluent New York society? That’s exactly what happens in Anna K, a retelling of one of my favorite books with a Gossip Girl twist. I could not put this down, and marveled at how seamlessly Tolstoy’s epic tale fit in with iPhones, Coachella, and teenagers and parents behaving badly. Pre-order this now - you won’t regret it.

Current book reviewshere,every bookI’ve read this year, and all myAmazon favorites.

Hitha’s Favorite Things

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Reply

or to participate.