issue #29 - the one that’s a pain in the neck

I’m speaking literally. My left shoulder is seriously inflamed. CBD cream and acupuncture (with trigger point therapy!) have helped. Holding sick kids all week did not.

Here’s hoping things ease up.

Three fun things - an interview I did with Dagne Dover, my pump up song on a playlist curated by mothers who raised capital while pregnant, and I chatted all things investing, running a company, and our mutual love for Peloton with Shannon on her podcast.

If this is your first e-mail from me, welcome! In addition to writing the book How To Pack, I'm an entrepreneur and angel investor, an avid reader, and a mom of two boys (a 4 year old and a 4 month old).

Every Saturday, I share the 20 best reads from the Internet (culled from the daily shares on my Instagram), the books I've read that week, and things I'm generally loving at the moment. You can join the conversation on all these articles - and more! - in my Facebook group.

Looking for my packing list template? Here you go!

Finding Books For Rho (With Help From The Scholastic Store) #sponsored

I love a bookstore.

I love wandering the shelves, reading the book jackets, chatting with the staff on their latest favorite books, and finally picking one out.

It’s an experience, and I love to share with Rho.

Rho does not love buying books this way.

Rho beelines for the toys, and asks for the biggest toy on display. He waaaaants it. He neeeeeeeeds it.

And we end up compromising on a new WaterWow pad or small puzzle. I pass the shelves filled with bright covers and cheeky titles with a sigh, and run after Rho.

Rho loves to read, and often carries a book with him from room to room (just like I do) and ‘reads’ it to anyone who will listen. Books are his rewards for completing his chores and goals for the week.

Since the bookstore is out of the question (because the last thing we need is another WaterWow pad or puzzle), we go online.

Specifically, The Scholastic Store.

The website is neatly organized and easy to navigate. I always click over to the Pre-K section before calling Rho over to join me, and he quickly picks his book (usually on the first page, and usually featuring an animal on the cover), then returns to his toys or climbing onto my back and or crawling under the table to ‘hide’.

Kids. They’re a funny lot.

I usually add a couple more books to our order—a phonics boxed set (great for budding readers and overtired parents whose kids demand 10 books a night), a title that literally has me laughing out loud, and a new activity book because I can’t find our old ones.

A few clicks, and the order is placed.

When the box arrives, Rho and I grab the books and curl up on the couch. He laughs at The Wonky Donkey and Stinky Face, saves the boxed set for bedtime, and I hide the activity book in my ‘all the kids stuff’ bag.

A month later, and we do it all again.

I live for moments like these. And for The Scholastic Store.

Take 15% off yourScholastic Store order with code HITHA15. Valid through 10/12 at 11:59 PM PDT.

#ThingsILove This Week

What I read this week:

  • She Said - this is not a book I can read quickly, and I’ve made my peace with that. I’m now at the Christine Blasey Ford section, just as she’s about to submit her letter to the Senate Judiciary Committee. For as difficult as this book has been to read, it’s all the more important that we ALL do. Men - that means you too.

  • Black Nowhere - is a cyberterrorism novel considered a mental palate cleanser? For me, it was and it was quite necessary between life chaos and She Said. It’s a fast read, and quite a good one. I’m excited that this is the first in hopefully a long series...

Current book reviewshere,every bookI’ve read this year, and all myAmazon favorites.

Hitha’s Favorite Things

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Reply

or to participate.