issue #178 - an old school one

Do you remember the old days of blogging (or predating that, LiveJournal and Xanga)?

Those missives of documenting our days or unpacking our feelings in such detail was cathartic for the writers and the readers. And while I love listening to lengthy podcasts or watching quick vlogs, it doesn’t feel the same.

This week was one worthy of documenting, both in the remarkable experiences and in the little moments I want to document and savor. If that’s not your thing, I get it! Book recommendations, this week’s smart reads, and the mundane things that make my life better are below! And if you’d like a peek in my life, just scroll a bit.

The alarm went off at 5 am on Monday and Tuesday, so I could get in my workout before the kids were up. I hated it. And I also kind of loved getting in my workout before jumping into mom mode, and being able to get to work immediately.

Overnight protein oats also made those mornings a lot easier. This recipe has become of favorite of mine and my father. And bless Serena for this omelette masterclass, which the kids have been enjoying.

They say to never meet your heroes. And while I’ve always been nervous to, I have yet to have a terrible experience. But V.E. Schwab blew every previous hero encounter out of the water and left me feeling like I’ve met a new friend. We may have immediately bonded over a favorite Peloton instructor (Bradley Rose for both of us), but the way they talk about their fantasy books - on opening a door to the next door over and letting the reader create their own journey within their books - was so incredible as a fan, empowering as a reader, and a little more in love as a human.

The same could be of two other experiences that week. On Tuesday, I got to celebrate the launch Aliza Licht’s On Brand with a Times Square moment with her close friends and family. When she was known as @dknyprgirl, Aliza shared this advice that changed the course of my content career:

“If you try to copy or emulate someone else’s content, you won’t succeed. Ask yourself what you can uniquely create, and what you want to read. Then go create it.”

That led to my writing about packing and travel, which launched this career as an author and creator. Aliza - thank you, from the bottom of my heart.

The same energy flowed into Wednesday, when I had the incredible honor to attend a dinner honoring Remarkable Women hosted by MM.LaFleur. The brand is one I’ve grown up with - as a young executive and content creator, their dresses were the ones I donned for big meetings and featured on my burgeoning blog. They launched my short career as an angel investor and in their fundraise. Their clothes are the ones I still reach for when I need that extra oomph. And to join them for a beautiful experience in their new Upper West Side location was surreal, and left me with so many new friends.

Those moments were incredible and unforgettable. But so were these.

Getting to experience an incredible new service from my friends’ new venture (I cannot wait to tell you about it). The school pickup, and the conversations about the day while en route. Rho asking me how my day was and listening intently. Rhaki whisking the eggs for his breakfast with such concentration and care. Savoring a glass of wine while sitting at the table with my parents, reflecting on the day and chatting about upcoming travel. A rainbow sprinkle cone from the ice-cream truck one warm afternoon, before school pick up. A long walk with tea and incredible conversation one morning.

There’s just as much magic in the moments we write off as boring or mundane as there are in the big ones we deem worthy to share on social media. And I am glad that I soaked in all of them in equal measure, and want to bring this energy into the next month and half - an insane, exciting, chaotic, and slightly scary stretch.

May we all recognize them - and may we all share them the way we share the big ones.

What I Read This Week

  • Advika and the Hollywood Wives by Kirthana Ramisetti - give me a insidery Hollywood couple novel with a whiff of Evelyn Hugo and Never Have I Ever, and you have my attention. And for Kirthana Ramisetti, Advika was a masterful novel that wove together so many themes - May-December romance, Hollywood power player dynamics, a very specific South Asian American experience - into a compelling book of love, loss, and finding yourself again.

  • Agent You by Nicole Lynn - all I’ve wanted to discuss this week is how Lynn negotiated Jalen Hurts’ NFL setting contract, and about her in general. I largely spared everyone around me and listened to this book instead, which was such an inspiring read and had my creative wheels turning again. Most personal development books are focused on either career or personal life, and I loved that Lynn tackled both in her book. I highly recommend it, especially if you’ve been feeling a little lost (guilty).

Top #5SmartReads Of The Week

The rest of the week’s reads (and conversations!) are below:

The Mundane Things That I Heartily RecommendThis was inspired by an Instagram Story over a week back from Julia, who had posed a challenge of sorts for influencers to share the mundane things - toothpaste, toilet paper, etc. It got my wheels turning and I decided to share mine here:

  • Emesis bags - I have one of these medical-grade vomit bags in my bag at any time. Having a motion sick kid and having toilet-trained two means I’m very used to messes, and these saved me for both. It’s also an excellent trash bag to pick up after yourself and family while traveling, and is the first thing I pack whenever we travel.

  • This mini-whisk - I’ve been making the kids omelettes every morning for breakfast. I crack three eggs into a glass liquid measuring cup, and this little whisk beats them perfectly and gives us the most perfect, fluffy omelettes (with the help of the tutorial I linked above). I use this everyday.

  • The best pens - for me, the best pens dry quickly, offer that Golidocks line (not too thick, not too thin), and write evenly. These are those pens, and they are glorious to write with.

  • My favorite pajamas - these bamboo pajamas are like slipping into ventilation heaven. When I FaceTimed my mother-in-law on Friday, she and I were both wearing them and laughed about it. I bought 6 pairs of them over five years ago, and they’re still going strong and what I wear most nights.

  • TheraIce cap - my cousin sent me this cap to try and help with my migraines, and it has been tremendous at helping nip oncoming migraines. It’s also the perfect ice pack - not too cold and stays cool for a while and can wrap joints easily.

xo,HPN

Reply

or to participate.