issue #175 - the one sharing more hacks

When plans go haywire, my first inclination is to blame it on the planets. I know that life never goes according to plan, but I’m just going to blame the last two weeks’ pivots on Pluto entering Aquarius, and also share some of the hacks and tips that have kept me grounded and things running smoothly:

  • When I need to motivate myself to get started on any task, I ask Siri or my smart speaker to play one of my favorite songs (Favorite Record by Fall Out Boy) and tell myself I can take a break once the song ends. It snaps me into focus mode and I don’t think I ever stopped once the song finished. It works for chores and work tasks alike!

  • Writing a packing list a week before a trip (and then packing a little bit every day) sounds so simple, but it has been a lifesaver of a ritual this week as we prepare for spring break and an impromptu DC visit right after. I share my best advice in How to Pack: Travel Smart for Any Trip (which also makes for a great gift for any woman in your life!).

  • A heaping spoon of cottage cheese (I add a 1/2 cup) adds a boost of protein to boxed macaroni and cheese without your kids (or other adults!) realizing. I melt the cottage cheese first before adding in the butter, milk, and cheese powder (and extra cheese). I pair it with some Car Mom Broccoli (one of the only vegetable sides my kids will eat) and it’s a quick, balanced dinner.

  • Brain dumps (taking out a piece of paper and scribbling down everything on your mind) are such a powerful tool. I do mine a bit differently - I fold a piece of paper in four sections, assign a category for each section (Family/Home, Rhoshan Pharma, Content/Speaking, Me) and write each task/idea in its correct box. I do my best to write down something in the “me” category that I actually want to do (this week, it’s getting in a pop punk workout in daily).

  • Rather than carving out a day or two for our spring cleaning/clear out, I’ve been tackling a drawer/cabinet/shelf every day. It’s been immensely satisfying and a nice break in the middle of the day (and I feel very lucky to have the flexibility to work from home). I send in worn out items for fabric recycling via For Days, and donate my workwear to Bottomless Closet.

  • When I unpack after a trip, I do a quick inventory of my toiletries bag and replace or refill any items that are empty or running low so it’s ready for my next trip (another tip from How to Pack that has served me well these past few weeks!)

  • Apply a lightweight face oil BEFORE applying a thicker face cream - the oil slows the release of the cream into your skin and gives you longer lasting moisture (I also like to add a bit of oil on top of the moisturizer). The Outset’s oil is really nice - lightweight, no fragrance, and it pairs beautifully with my Josh Rosebrook vital balm cream and Ranavat moonseed treatment (my current moisturizers).

  • When McKinsey Comes To Town (or any nonfiction audiobook, though this is our current listen) has put Rhaki to sleep in less than 10 minutes - and I love that I get some reading time while cuddling him at night during bedtime.

Some tools/things that also help keep me grounded when things are chaotic:

  • Superhuman Meditations - I start and end every day with their seated meditations, listen to their chillin’ meditations to break a social media scroll, and have really been loving their journaling meditations as well. Mimi’s voice is so soothing and it really does help me re-center myself throughout the day. Code hitha gets you a 6 week free trial, if you’d like to give it a try.

  • Moon Juice Magnesi-Om - this magnesium drink is absolutely delicious and has helped me unwind or chill before bed or the dinner/bath/bedtime rush with the kids. If more calm & sleep is what you need, give it a try (code hitha15 gets you 15% off).

I am so excited to log off next week and enjoy spring break with the family, so I’ll be turning over the newsletter to our incredible team of contributors. I’ll see you in a week!

What We Read This Week

  • The True Love Experiment by Christina Lauren (out May 16) - I really liked The Soulmate Equation, and I looooooooved this follow-up. I was talking to Becca about this book and it felt like the authors were having so much fun while writing this - the joy really jumped through the pages transformed romance novelist Fizzy and documentary filmmaker Connor’s burgeoning relationship into something electric. It was such a joy to read and one that’s been added to my comfort re-reads list.

  • Nightchaser by Amanda Bouchert - before there was Reylo (where my Star Wars nerds at??), they was Leia and Han. And Bouchert’s Nightchaser - where a brave, beautiful rebel steals from the evil empire and ends up being helped by a bounty hunter with a heart of gold - is the romantic space opera novel I didn’t know I was looking for. I can’t wait to jump into the second book in this duology (and for a brief series that won’t take over my life - I’m still recovering from my Zodiac Academy hangover).

  • Unmasking Autism by Dr. Devon Price - I saw this book on a few different accounts and knew I had to buy it - as someone who was a recent ADHD diagnosis, I'm learning so much about neurodiversity and had to read this. Honestly, I am so blown away with this book. I'm obsessed. I can't stop talking about it! Dr. Price takes such a non-judgemental approach to learning about neurodiversity and this book addresses Autism in such an incredible and empowering way - if you are a parent, you absolutely need to read this book. I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Book Lovers by Emily Henry - I'll just come out and say it: Emily Henry can do no wrong. Yes, her books are a little bit cheesy, and yes, they are sort of glorified romance novels, and no, I do not care. They make me smile and are a break from a very serious world, and I love them. If you are looking for a fictional escape, I think you will love them too.

  • What The Fact by Dr. Seema Yasmin - My whole family read this together, including my 9 year old. It's written in a very accessible way and covers the topic of misinformation and being a more discerning consumer of information. A worthwhile read for us adults, and also the younger generation.

  • Mother Brain: How Neuroscience Is Rewriting the Story of Parenthood by Chelsea Conaboy - I loved this book! I remember being a brand new mother and thinking something major had shifted in my body and brain and not being able to accurately explain it - Mother Brain is going to completely shift the narrative about parenthood and what we understand happens to us when we become parents. This is a must-read book for anyone with kids, or thinking about having children, because I promise you will relate and it will help you feel less alone!

Top #5SmartReads Of The Weeks

The rest of the week’s reads + last week’s reads (and conversations!) are below:

Your Questions, Answered

What shows are you watching these days?

  • Star Trek Picard

  • How I Met Your Father

  • Ted Lasso

  • Love Is Blind

  • UnPrisoned

I’m also rewatching season 9 of Real Housewives of NY and that was an incredible season (as was 8!)

Advice on someone who has been laid off from tech?First off, I just want to say I’m sorry this happened and it sucks. I’ve been there and it’s hard to not take it personally, but tech companies grow and contract quickly and that’s the nature of the business.

This article has some excellent tactical and strategic tips to follow if you’ve been impacted by tech layoffs.

Two resources I’d like to recommend to you:

  • GrowthQ is an incredible platform that matches you to mentors and helps you find your next role, with an emphasis on diverse candidates who are typically underrepresented in tech sales.

  • The Riveter has a platform called Riveter Work where you can do contract or fractional work- it’s a great way to work on your terms while you consider your next step.

CC3 official release date is SO FAR AWAY. What are we reading until then??For my ancient/classical fantasy folks:

Contemporary fantasy:

What’s one piece of advice you’d give someone who feels guilty about making time for self-care?I would get them a copy of Pooja Lakshmin’s Real Self-Care. I love how she properly defines self care:

“Real self-care is the internal decision making that is threaded through every choice you make in you life. It’s not 15 minutes of stepping out for a meditation. Real self-care is in the how of how you show up to do your to-do list. It’s the way you show up to your free time with your kids. It’s the way in which you set up your weekly schedule, which relationships and activities aren’t serving you and then remove from your schedule.

These principals aren’t revolutionary, but they are hard to implement. The reason they’re hard is that all of these systems- the patriarchy, racism, end stage capitalism, all of the other isms- are working against your mental health. That’s a fact. So, our work- especially as women- is to understand that we’re constantly swimming upstream. It’s not your fault. It’s not that you’re not trying hard enough. You’re swimming upstream.”

Is Vanderpump Rules not your thing?It’s not, but my friend Leah made the amazing case for it to become my thing last week, and so I’m working my way through this list to get caught up on all things Scandoval. She also sent me this list of episodes to watch to get fully caught up. But I have no idea who any of these are so wish me luck.

I love your style. What are some brands you are loving? (Saw your post on MM.LaFleur)Thank you! I have two modes of dressing- dressed up to the nines/boss ass bitch, or a total schlub in band or sports shirts and leggings.

For when I’m turning it on, I love Argent, Anna Sui & Farm Rio rented via Armoire, and House of Masaba (worth the shipping time and fee from India). I love ABLE and Quince for high quality basics.

When I’m working form home but want to look polished, I LOVE LEZE. I live in Nesara and BURU dresses in the summer, but I’m most often in workout sets and a sweatshirt these days.

I’m lucky to work with some of these brands, and have some discount codes for you:

  • Armoire - code hithapalepu gets you 50% off your first month and 2 bonus items

  • LEZE - code hitha15 for 15% off

  • Nesara - code hitha for $10 off

  • Alexis Bittar - code hitha20 for 20% off (these hoops and this cuff add some sparkle and edge to every outfit)

What time do you wake up? And when do you workout?Wake up at 6 (if my husband is traveling) or 6:30 (if he’s not), and I meditate and journal before I get the kids up and ready for school. I work out between 8:30-9 once I’ve had a chance to skim my inbox and answer urgent emails.

Have a wonderful week, and I hope Pluto stops f’ing around with all of us.

xo,HPN

Reply

or to participate.