issue #173 - a brief one

You know that old adage “If March comes in like a lion, it will go out like a lamb”? It typically refers to weather, but it could explain the state of my calendar this particular March.

It makes me incredibly grateful for the privilege of flexibility and having spent January and February in a semi-hibernation mode. I am beyond grateful for every experience and opportunity I’ve had in these past 12 days, from speaking on the main stage at SXSW to celebrating my son’s 8th birthday to International Women’s Day celebrations with PureWow and IndiasPopUp.

It also means that the quieter moments I do have are that much more precious. So I’ll leave you with this week’s reads and books, and wish you some peace in the pockets you find this week.

What I Read This WeekI often get asked what my favorite motivational books are. These are some of them, and I look forward to reading the ones recommended by some of you! I invite you to share your favorites in the comments.

Zodiac Academy 8: Sorrow and Starlight by Caroline Peckham and Susanne Valenti -  I am both satisfied and wanting so much more from this series (book #9 is slated to be released later this year), but I can do life again and am relieved. Some of the chapters were narrated from new characters or characters I just don’t care for (and I skimmed or outright skipped some of them), and the series would be stronger with some tighter editing. I’ve just come to accept that at the beginning of every year, Becca is going to recommend a fantasy series to me and it will consume my life for a solid six weeks (last year, it was ACOTAR and Crescent City).

Yours Truly by Abby Jimenez (out April 11) - I love Jimenez’s books for a number of reasons. I love her writing, how she brings nuance and honesty to different health issues that her characters face, the banter between the main characters, pets who steal the show…I could go on, but I’ll spare you and encourage you to preorder this book because it is a DELIGHT. One of the reasons I love romance is the predictability, and the depth and humanity she brings to this genre always leaves me feeling warm and fuzzy and satisfied.

What Everyone Else Read This Week

  • Edie Richter Is Not Alone by Rebecca Handler - This book was weird and sad and I really enjoyed it. Edie Richter moves to Perth, Australia with her husband after the death of her father, who had Alzheimers. I don't want to spoil anything but it's about loss, guilt, loneliness, and more.

  • Not Your Ex’s Hexes by April Asher - Supernatural avengers? Check Witches? Check. Demons? Check. 🌶️🌶️🌶️ check check check. This is book 2 in a series, but you don’t need to read book 1 to follow this one. Rose Maxwell is a witch who gets sentenced to community service at an animal sanctuary, run by half-Demon veterinarian Damian Adams. Turns out Damian and Rose know each other - they had a one-night stand in the past!! This book is so much fun if you’re looking for a sexy, light read to take your mind off real life. The world-building is excellent - it takes place in modern-day New York City and is as if the Avengers were real.

Top #5SmartReads Of The Week

The rest of the week’s reads (and conversations!) are below:

Your Questions, Answered SVB-Banked Small Business to SupportLast Friday’s closure of Silicon Valley Bank has a major, major impact on the businesses that banked with them. If you have the means, please purchase from these businesses - gift cards, upcoming gifts, or something for yourself - to bring in cash immediately into their new accounts.

  • Slumberkins - emotional toys, books, and resources to help raise resilient, calm, and confident kids.

  • CAMP - experiential toy store and activity centers that our family LOVES (they host amazing birthday parties as well!).

  • Omsom - the best starter sauces for delicious Asian home cooking.

  • Teadrop - delicious, dissolvable loose-leaf teas.

  • A Kids Co - an incredible publishing company whose books teach kids about complex or sensitive topics in an empathetic, approachable manner.

If you come across any other companies affected by this news, please share their name and link in the comments so we can all support them:

To a week that’s a little less lion, a little more lamb. I’ll even take some lamb moments!

xo,HPN

Reply

or to participate.