issue #169 - the one about purpose

“I had a purpose before anyone had an opinion. It’s not about anyone else.”

This video clip has followed me on every social media platform and planted itself in my brain. It’s a powerful Jalen-ism (some other favorites are “let the main thing be the main thing” and “one person, 1% better, every day”), but that first quote is something profound and sums up how I feel about this Philadelphia Eagles team, about my role models (VP Kamala Harris, former Speaker Nancy Pelosi), and my own work (in addition to the immense privilege I have).

Purpose is what drives us to keep our heads down, do the work and the extra credit, and take care of ourselves to stay in the fight. Yes, it’s the late nights and the early mornings and practicing over and over and tweaking a play or speech as we go. But it’s also surrounding yourself with the right people and supporting them in equal measure, in finding and prioritizing joy, and in rest.

There’s a full spectrum of opinions out there on everything. Some offer helpful criticism, and some are cheap, loud quick takes rooted in the opinion-sharer’s world view than the subject.

And no one was more brutal - or more honest - about the Eagles than their own fans during the 2020 season, when the team went 4-11, and after the Eagles lost to the Chiefs in 2021.

But they also were right about the Eagles needing to run the ball and work on our 4th down and red zone offense.

They were brutal to Nick Sirianni and Jalen Hurts. And the way these two and this whole team used these opinions to reshape the strategy and as fuel for their purpose to get the Eagles to the Super Bowl the next season…

That’s purpose, fueled by hard work and focus and dedication. It’s resulted in an incredible football season and playoff run (and it would be nice if some Giants and 49ers could accept that and be gracious losers). It’s earned the respect from one of the toughest fan bases in the country (energy only matched by our sister cities of Buffalo and Baltimore).

Forget manifesting. I feel called to update my vision board into a purpose board (filled with plenty of quotes from Hurts, Sirianni, Harris, and Pelosi). I’m going to fill out some of the goal plans in my planner in line with purpose. I’ll filter the constructive opinions I hear and adapt my plans as I go, and use the negative ones to fuel me.

I am so fired up right now for so many reasons. And win or lose today, I am so proud of this team and my hometown and for this incredible lesson from Hurts and Sirianni.

GO BIRDS!

I also have to give my husband a massive thank you - not just for putting up with me during this entire playoff run and especially this past week and today, but for also giving me this idea for a newsletter topic before I heard the Jalen Hurts quote. Honey, you’re the best half I could ask for, and I love you and our boys across space-time.

This Week’s Links

What I Read This Week

  • Sweep of the Blade and Sweep with Me by Ilona Andrews - the first half of this series could very well fall into cozy fantasy - the stakes are low in comparison to the second half of the series, and there are lots of cozy, sweet moments. Sweep of the Blade and Sweep with Me pick up the pace and the action and I enjoyed these books thoroughly. I’m on the final book in the series, which has a Selection storyline thrown in and I honestly can’t tell where it’s going to go - but I’m excited (and a little sad) to find out.

What Everyone Else Read This Week

Zara

  • One Day In December by Josie Silver- I typically read thrillers in the colder months, but right now I just feel like I need sweet, romantic reads. This book absolutely delivered. It's light and lovely, like a rom-com in book form. It would make a fantastic movie or limited series and I hope it gets onscreen treatment soon.

  • Babel, Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators’ Revolution by R. F. Kuang- I’m deep into an historical fiction kick these days, and I am obsessed with this story about four translation students of color at Oxford who uncover the insidious role of language and translation in the project of colonialism and empire. It’s a long one, but will go by in a blink, especially if you love great character development and riveting storytelling. This book got me through a long COVID quarantine last year. I also highly recommend the audio version—the narrator does all the voices!

  • Writers & Lovers by Lily King - Fresh Starts Registry is teaming up with The Lost Bookshop for a book club on March 23rd on zoom! We're reading Lily King's Writers & Lovers, so I'm deep in the pages currently. Writers & Lovers follows Casey Peabody as she copes with the fallout of her mother's sudden death and the end of her relationship—a double whammy of fresh start fodder, for sure. What I love about this book is its open-hearted honesty. It's inspiring yet down to earth, exploring about all the ways starting over is hard, and worth it. Here's a link to the (free) book club, if anyone wants to come!

Top #5SmartReads Of The Week

The rest of the week’s reads + last week’s (and conversations!) are below:

Your Questions, Answered

How did you know you were ready for your 2nd child?The truth? I don’t think I was ready when I got pregnant for the second time (which ended in miscarriage).

When I got pregnant with Rhaki, it was after I felt physically and mentally healed from that loss, and I also could mentally prepare for the depression and anxiety I had with the previous pregnancies and postpartum period.

I am so immensely grateful to my OB-GYN (Dr. Abigail Kahn in NYC) and The. Motherhood Center for taking care of me (physically and mentally) during my pregnancy with Rhaki, as well as my family and friends!

Best way to start a presentation to execs?Slide 1 should be a strong executive summary.

Boring, yes, but tell them what you’re going to tell them and hit the main points clearly.

An intelligent & interesting discussion topic for a dinner party? So I typically go in the other direction and ask folks what their favorite movie is that they wouldn’t admit in an interview but brings them comfort, and immediately introduce mine (White Chicks and She’s The Man)

Best white tshirt?I love this one from Madewell!

Party theme for LGTBQ+ fundraiser? Right now it’s prom themed and people are over it. Come as your favorite musical theater character or favorite musical icons.

Delicious dinner spot in NYC that is ok to bring kids toManero’s of Mulberry or El Vez if you’re downtown.

The Smith, Tacombi, Motorino have locations throughout the city.

Know of any brands, or people to follow, that have office wear that is more “hippie” style?ABLE has some great dresses and tops that have a more bohemian style that you can pair with office separates.

Black or brown owned intimate wear shop?Most of my undergarments are from Nude Barre and Okko- super comfortable!

Savage x Fenty is iconic, of course. And here are a few others

GO BIRDS! And may my anxiety levels come back to a normal level come Monday.

xo,HPN

Reply

or to participate.