issue #162 - a brief one

My husband and I just spend the weekend at our favorite spot Glenmere Mansion, and it was absolutely perfect. We have a busy week ahead with the kids’ last week of school (and the subsequent holiday concert and class celebrations), wrapping up as much work as we can for the year, and packing for our family vacation.

I’m trying to watch the Eagles game while the kids jump on the couch. I ordered one of my favorite “I’m stressed” quick service meals (Domino’s thin crust pizza with jalapeños and buffalo sauce and ranch dressing on the side) - it goes great with my Athletic Brewing’s Upside Down.

Welcome to a typical Sunday. I had better close my laptop and save my husband from the kids’ jumping all over him.

This Week’s Links

What I Read This Week

  • A Singh Family Christmas by Nisha Sharma - Nisha’s Singh Family series is one of my all-time favorite romances. Give me desi billionaires and elders that remind me of my own parents, and I’m a happy girl. This novella follows Bhram and Rafael finally getting together - and Bhram trying to propose - during Christmas and is such a happy quick read. I will read anything Nisha writes (and she’s got a new YA book and mafia and sci-fi romances in her pipeline, which has me even more excited!), but recommend this series as a great place to start.

  • So This Is Christmas by Jenny Holiday - in “could there be a better name for a romance author”, I give you Holiday and her spicy Hallmark romances. We have a fictional European country, a feisty American and a stoic Eldovian where there’s more than mets the eye, and Christmas. This is the third in the series (and the first where a main character isn’t a member of the royal family (though we do meet them), and it is a spicy delight. Highly recommend.

  • The Duchess Takes a Husband by Harper St. George (out May 23, ARC provided by NetGalley) - another submission in “could there be a better name for a romance author”, I give you Harper and the latest addition to her Gilded Age Heiresses series, which details the American new money heiress marrying into the British nobility. Camille has been an important secondary character throughout the series, and I’m thrilled to finally read her story and happily ever after she deserves. While this book doesn’t come out until May, there are 3 more in the series that are equally satisfying and worth your time.

Top #5SmartReads Of The Week

The rest of the week’s reads + last week’s (and conversations!) are below:

Your Questions, Answered

Can you share the early days of how and why you started your internet presence? My old blog, Hitha On The Go, has the same origin story as every blog of that era - I had a very uncreative job and needed a creative outlet. I started it in 2009 and blogged for 9 years. It took off in 2012 as a resource for packing and travel content, and it’s how I got my book deal for How to Pack!

I stopped blogging in 2018 when I was expecting Rhaki and things were ramping up at Rhoshan Pharma and couldn’t keep up with the frequency and quality of blog posts, and focused on Instagram and my newsletter. I’m hoping to bring back the podcast next year!

I share a lot about my creator journey on Brittany Krystle’s amazing podcast.

Why are all your recommendations always so expensive?This is the first time I’ve heard this feedback. I will take care to share quality options at a more accessible price point in the future.

I love rental programs like Armoire and retailers like Quince & Able- they are accessibly priced and create high quality pieces with ethical standards. I share a lot of Kindle Unlimited reads, and am trying to shop less form Amazon as a personal choice.

How to decide when you’re “done” having babies?This is such a personal decision but I can share our perspective.

Form the beginning, my husband and I were pretty certain that we wanted 2 kids. He grew up with a sibling and I’m an only child (mercifully one with a lot of cousins who I’m very close with!). After we had Rhaki, we did have the “should we go for a third?” Juggling the kids and work during the pandemic honestly put the nail in that coffin for us and we decided against it, and we feel very at peace with this decision. For us, we can parent on our terms and also grow our careers the way we hope with 2 kids.

Should Die Hard be considered a Christmas movie? Absolutely- John McClane is basically a grown up Kevin McCallister and it’s basically a grown up (and slightly different) Home Alone.

Favorite Christmas movie you’ve watched with your dad?Santa Clause has been our favorite for the longest time.

In this year’s watch he seems to like Falling for Christmas the most!

How do you and your husband manage calendars/tasks/errands?We created a separate “family” email that we use for all the kids’ school and activities communication, travel plans, and a separate calendar we both have on our iCal. We put all family and school things here, our individual travel plans or evening events on this calendar, along with any childcare notes. My dad also has this calendar on his phone as he spends a lot of time with us helping with the kids.

Once a week we have a family meeting where we touch on the week and divvy up things. He has his regular chores and I have mine but when either of us travels, the other takes on the bulk of other items. It all balances out in the end.

Recommendations for self-help books.If you’re looking for a general recommendation to help with career and personal life, I’m going to recommend mine - We’re Speaking! I’m very proud of this book and confess I pick it up weekly to re-read a chapter here and there.

Here are some other general self-help books that have improved my life:

Traveling to NYC week before Christmas & getting nervous about COVID. Thoughts on cancelling? This depends on your risk tolerance. If you come to NYC that week, you will have an absolutely magical time. There is also a high likelihood that you will get sick (yes, even if you wear a mask and wash hands frequently) because there are so many viruses circulating the city right now.

We still have some amazing outdoor dining setups and people are still masking voluntarily in museums and shows, so there are steps you can take to minimize your exposure. But if you are immunocompromised or going to spend time over the holidays with people who can’t get sick, you might want to reconsider this trip.

How much of a base/bonus should you sped on housing? First time buyer, market is crazy.This is a question I would pose to Priyanka Naik and Meghan Donovan who bough their homes on their own and have more valuable advices to share here (my parents generously helped us purchase our home).

Farnoosh Torabi, Her First 100K and Vivian are my very smart financial friends who very likely have a podcast episode or IG feed post about this very topic!

Have a wonderful week!

xo,HPN

Reply

or to participate.