issue #160 - a thankful one

Going to keep this short and sweet, as we’re at my parents’ house for the rest of the week and my father is ready to enjoy Naidu Wines’ pinot noir with me.

I’m incredibly thankful for so much this year - but most of all, you. You, my friend, are the reason this is a business (and one that’s had its best year by far). Thank you for your thoughtful comments, your replies to these e-mails, and the very fact that I’m invited to come into your inbox once a week.

I hope you have a safe and healthy week and weekend, filled with quality time with your loved ones and delicious food and hopefully another Philadelphia Eagles win.

I also would be remiss to not mention the dark origins of Thanksgiving. I’m currently spending time on Lenapehoking (Lenni-Lenape) land, and encourage you to watch my friend Charity’s video below:

What I Read This Week

  • Tis the Season for Revenge by Morgan Elizabeth - It’s Legally Blonde, but extremely spicy and takes place over the holiday season. Abbie is dumped by Richard Bartholemew Benson on Halloween - the night she’s finally invited to attend his law firm’s fancy party. Enter Damien Martinez, Richard’s boss and the partner at the firm, who she matches with on a dating app and decides to pursue him long enough to attend the firm’s fancy Christmas party. In true romance fashion, they fall for each other. It’s sweet and spicy and such a fun read.

  • Revved by Samantha Towle - she’s the daughter of one of the greatest F1 drivers who was tragically killed in a racing accident, and becomes an engineer and mechanic in his memory. He’s the newest star in F1 and is as hot in the sheets as he is on the track. I’m in deep F1 withdrawals right now so I’ll be reading all the motorsport romance books I can get my hands on until the 2023 season starts in about 100 days.

What Everyone Else Read This Week

  • Vacationland by Meg Mitchell Moore- Vacationland was the last novel I really sunk my teeth into! This story of many families and how their stories intertwine made me laugh, cry, and curl up with the book (I finished it in one weekend!). I'm a huge fan of Meg Mitchell Moore - her stories always capture my attention and they're so beautifully written.

  • Gilt by Jamie Brenner- This the story of the surviving members of the Pavlin family - a famed, family-owned jewelry business. They include Elodie, CEO of the company, Celeste, the sister who owns a vintage store in a beach town, and Gemma, Elodie and Celeste's niece who is an emerging star in jewelry design. Gemma was left orphaned when her parents died in an accident, and now she's looking for the Electric Rose, her mother's famous engagement ring that she hasn't seen since the week after her mother's death. Read this if you like family sagas! This is a really enjoyable one!

  • Take the Lead by Alexis Daria- This isn't out until Valentine's Day, but I want to put this on your radar. Alexis Daria is known for her leads having so much chemistry that you can feel it on the page. This is the story of Gina and Stone, participating in a Dancing With The Stars type show. Gina doesn't want her reputation to be associated with a showmance, and Stone has secrets of his own. This is a very sexy, fun read - my ideal casting is Chris Hemsworth (Stone is basically Thor) and Camilla Mendes.

Relinking my gift guide here, in case you’re still shopping for your loved ones (it’s updated with last week’s very specific requests from y’all on Instagram). 

2022 Cyber Week Deals

Hitha’s Favorites

  • Equilibria is my not-so-secret weapon for helping me sleep better, stress less, boost my energy, and keep me balanced in chaotic times. I swear by all the gummies (daily, stress, sleep) and the new energy capsules are a lifesaver during this time of the year. My code hitha gives you 15% off on top of the 25% off sitewide promotion they’re having.

  • Dagne Dover is a favorite of mine (and my parents, who keep “borrowing” mine only to never return them). My picks are the Dakota backpack, the Landon carryall, and the Arlo tech case (makes a great gift, filled with the recipients’ go-to chargers). Code BFRIYAY25 gets you 25% off everything!

  • Haverhill Collection is one of my favorite jewelry brands that makes timeless, sustainably made fine jewelry in New England. I wear my four stone birthstone necklace, a 2 stone & initial bracelet and a grande bracelet every day, and I have my eye on my sons’ birthstone bands this year. Code hitha15 gets you 15% off.

  • The Shark FlexStyle is the reason I’ve cancelled my Drybar membership and my hair looks better than it ever has. It’s less than 1/3 the cost of a Dyson Airwrap and just as powerful and easy to use. At $260 for the dryer and 3 attachments, it’s the best deal I’ve seen and worth every single penny.

  • Granted, I’ve only owned my Walking Pad for a week, but it has already changed my life and I very nearly brought it to Pennsylvania with me for Thanksgiving. Use code BlackFWP to get $100 off, bringing it down to $450 (and order through the manufacturer directly to troubleshoot any technical issues you may have with greater ease).

Beauty

Fashion

  • Armoire is my go-to for renting clothes for all occasions - speaking gigs, formal events, or when the pants I own no longer fit me. For just $79, you can get your first month of a 7-item plan. Use code hitha7 to redeem the discount.

  • ABLE is one of my favorite places to shop (and made the perfect dress for holiday dinners). You can get 40% off with code HITHAHOLIDAY40. You can find all my favorite pieces here.

  • Birdies makes the best shoes (for inside and outside the house). Use code VELVET25 for 25% all velvet items, and HITHAPALEPU for 10% off your first order. I would recommend The Swan and The Dove, and get on the waitlist for the faux fur-lined Falcons.

  • NAADAM makes some of the yummiest cashmere and I wait until this time of year to shop - BLACKFRIDAY40 gets you 40% off your order until November 27. If there’s one piece you add to your wardrobe, I’d recommend this cashmere ribbed polo sweater.

  • Madewell makes amazing basics, but I’ll personally be stocking up on my favorite leggings because they are the best (and I’ll be adding these flared ones to try out). Get 40% off with code OHJOY.

Home & Kids

  • KiwiCo is the reason I’m a “fun mom” and we play with their amazing activity kits nearly every weekend. Code awesome gets you 20% off all orders (or 25% off $100+ orders, 30% off $150+ orders). Stock up to have kids’ birthday gifts on hand for all of 2023!

  • Material Kitchen makes some of my favorite kitchen tools, and is offering 20% off this week (no code needed). If you’re looking to upgrade your spatulas, peeler, cutting boards and mixing bowls, buy them from here. And if you have kids in your life who love cooking, I highly recommend the Kids Set as a holiday gift!

  • Our Place’s Instagram famous pan has mixed reviews, but mine has been going strong for over 3 years now and I love it, love it, love it (and it’s $50 off this week). I also love the Oven Pan, which I predominantly use as a stovetop griddle to make pancakes and burgers for my family. Get up to 45% off (no code needed)

  • Beddy’s is the reason my kids’ rooms look somewhat tidy - their zippered bedding sets are amazing. You can get 20% off with code BESTGIFT20.

  • Weezie’s towels are the BEST - period, full stop. They have a tiered Cyber Week promotion (HOLIDAY15 for 15% off orders $150+, HOLIDAY20 for 20% off orders $250+, HOLIDAY25 for 25% off orders $500+) and the codes stack on existing bundle promotions. You can find my favorite Weezie pieces here.

Top #3SmartReads Of The Week

Catch up on this week’s reads:

May you have a wonderful rest of your week and weekend!

xo,HPN

Reply

or to participate.