​issue #14 - the one on privilege, podcasts, and pay

Happy Saturday!

If you’re a long-ish time subscriber, jump ahead and start reading.

If this is your first #5SR letter, I’m so glad you opened this. Really.

You may have ended up here because you signed up on my blog, or because you wanted my packing list printable (which you can always download here). Here’s what you’re in for:

  • 25 of the smartest reads I found on the Internet this week

  • My favorite things of the moment - which are always random and hopefully helpful!

  • Reviews on the books I’ve read that week (or am currently reading)

On occasion, there will be a deeper dive on one of the week’s articles.

If this is your thing, I’m delighted to have you! If it’s not your cup of tea, that’s totally fine. You can unsubscribe here.

But I do hope it’s your thing, and that you’ll stick around.

#ThingsILove This Week

What I read/am reading this week (it was a VERY good reading week):

  • Beyond The Point (gifted by Book Of The Month- I literally could not put down this book. The writing is clear, the story on 3 friends from West Point and their subsequent careers was compelling, and the flashbacks between college and present day were seamless. I think this may be one of my favorites of the year.

  • Turbulence (coming in July 2019, ARC gifted by Scribner) - one of the most clever and compelling books I’ve ever read. Reminiscent of Cloud Atlas (where a character from the previous chapter is the protagonist in the next), Turbulence spans the world and the lives of people flying around it. It’s a quick read, but one that will stick with you in the days after.

  • Savage News - a juicy read by political reporter Jessica Yellin (who everyone should be following on Instagram). It’s a good book - addressing #MeToo head-on and the giving an unvarnished look at the media business today. The writing was just okay, the characters one-dimensional, and the plot was predictable. Ideal for a beach vacation or an easy weekend read.

  • All That You Leave Behind (gifted by Book Of The Month) - this book gutted me. I don’t know whether it’s the writing (the apple clearly doesn’t fall from the tree), the intensely close relationship between Erin and her late father David Carr, or the fact that it’s brutally raw and honest. All I know is that it’s one of the best memoirs I’ve ever read.

  • Fleishman Is In Trouble (coming in June 2018, ARC provided by NetGalley) - I forced myself to slow down and savor every word after reading three pages of the book. It’s brilliantly written and wickedly funny, and you don’t want to miss a single one of Taffy’s zingers. I just started this one, but I can’t stop thinking about it. Do yourself a favor and pre-order it now.

  • The Woman’s War - I’m still reading this one, but WOW. It’s the best fantasy book I’ve read since the Song of Ice and Fire series - maybe even better. The unabashedly feminist plot just speaks to me: a spell is cast to give women full control over whether they want to be pregnant or not, and society reacts in expected and unexpected ways. If fantasy isn’t your thing, you should still read this book. It’s that good.

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Reply

or to participate.