issue #10 - the one on Google, guilt, and the gig economy

I’ve had better weeks. You?

Maybe it’s Mercury in retrograde. Maybe it’s that I stretched myself too thin. Maybe it’s that third trimester slump that I now need to account for in my iCal.

Maybe it’s all three, and I need to start pay attention to all these signs and change my weeks a bit.

I’d love to share that we have exciting plans for the weekend. But I’m following doctor’s orders to stay off my feet after a little spill yesterday, so I will be camped out on the couch with my Kindleobnoxiously large tumbler of water, and some new puzzles for Rho and I to do together when he’s not running Sri or my parents ragged.

#ThingsILove this week:

  • These slippers are my new favorite thing, thanks to Grace.I’m the guest on Grace and Becca’s podcast Bad On Paper this week - click here to listen!

  • I binge listened Jessica’s new podcast. It’s refreshingly (and brutally) honest, open, and addictive.

  • Origin’s Drink Up mask (gifted) has joined my weekly rotation. I apply this before bed 2-3 nights a week, and my skin is noticeably smoother and bouncier than before I used it.

  • I’ve been going back and forth on Staud’s Shirley bag, and finally took the plunge on this one. I’m a sucker for a hyper-organized bag.

  • Nick Foles’ goodbye letter to Philadelphia and the Eagles was beautiful and left me in tears.

  • Books I’m reading/read:

    • Finally read Unmarriagable - and I was so sad when it was finished. Even though the story is completely predictable (it’s a retelling of Pride & Prejudice), the setting of modern day Pakistan gave it such a fresh, different, and immersive feel. Definitely one of my favorite books of the year, and in my top 20 books of all time.

    • Laura Vanderkam’s latest book Juliet’s School Of Possibilities is a charming, quick fable written with the author’s time management expertise in mind. If you haven’t read one of Vanderkam’s books yet, start with this one.

    • On deck this weekend - Verity (the latest Bad On Paper book pick!) and The Postnatal Depletion Cure, which my friend Eva recommended.

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Reply

or to participate.