Ask Me Anything - September 11, 2020

My team is hiring a new manager, my friend is going for the role and would be great. Any advice for being managed by a friend?

Good luck to your friend! Clear expectations and boundaries during work times are really important, and try to minimize the work talk when you’re off the clock. Attached is a fantastic book in general, but especially with regards to different relationship styles. I think it’ll help you both work productively while also maintaining your friendship.

Favorite Indian Snack?

The one cookbook you can’t live without?

The composition notebook filled with family recipes that my mom’s had for decades.

Know any awesome single men? (31-45ish) Dating is hard, trying new avenues!

Work with a dating or relationship coach! I know three that are all excellent, and do very different things:

Amy will coach you to overcome your blocks, and will help you craft the perfect profiles for the apps and manage the initial communication for you.

Lily has a more formal method that focuses on self-reflection before jumping into dating.

Clara offers several programs that might be a fit for your dating style.

A few weeks ago I think you shared a HOW TO on vote submission, can you repost?

When We All Vote is an amazing nonpartisan resource on creating your voting plan, getting your absentee ballot, and learn about your ballot.

Any tips for a young mom who wants to start investing in the stock market?

I don’t manage my own investments in the market - our money manager does, on our behalf.

I highly recommend you read this excellent article by my friend Farnoosh on getting your finances in order before investing in the stock market through one of the popular platforms, like Robinhood.

Do you have a nanny to help for the kids? If so, how do you manage his/her tasks?

YES. She has been with us since Rho was a baby, and is a valued member of our team and our family.

Since she’s been with us for over 5 years, she knows the boys’ routines, meal prep, bath routine, activities (pre-pandemic). She’s mostly focused on Rhaki, and we have a sitter for Rho who helps us with the current remote learning and keeping him engaged.

Is there a probiotic you’d recommend?

Seed is the one I take and I’m a fan.

How did you first week of virtual learning go? Finishing ours here (1st week of K, first kid) Overwhelmed!

I really hope in-person school opens at the end of the month, as planned. Rho is doing fine academically, but participating via Zoom is challenging for him and he is NOT a morning person at all.

Do you use PhoneSoap or other UV-C disinfection devices?

I haven’t invested in one yet, but it’s on my to-do list to research them and understand the science a bit more!

I’m getting a Peloton! Any tips or must have accessories?

I have a full review here! Enjoy it (it’s what actually got me to work out every day), and I would recommend getting some quick-drying gym towels because you WILL sweat.

How does Rho feel about Kindergarten??

He really likes his new school and teachers (even over Zoom), but like all kids, he’s not happy to be back in school.

Peloton+ -are you thinking of upgrading or sticking to your current peloton? Do you have the Peloton Tread?

Our Peloton bike and (non-Peloton) treadmill work great, so we’re going to stick with them until they break down and have to be replaced.

How are you feeling today?

Same old, same old - tired, full, connected to my family, in need of 6 more hours in every day.

Are you going to be reading Jay Shetty’s new book?

Probably not. I focus on reading personal development books written by women of color.

How do you prevent a hangover?

Say no to that third glass of wine!

If you could go back in time what would you change? Love your content!

I would go back to 2003 and tell Anthony Weiner the trouble his smartphone habits will get him - and the free world - into. Imagine if he never sent dick pics and kept it inside the pants. We’d likely have a competent president, a mayor of NYC who actually will do the job…

I clearly have thought about this a lot.

Are you going to watch RHOSLC?

ABSOLUTELY.

Any recommendations for vitamins for 3 year old picky eater

Rho loves his Smarty Pants. Whatever vitamin your kid will take is the one to give them!

Advice for talking to boss about burnout? Many cuts at work, and I am picking up the slack.

I don’t have much advice, but this article outlines a great process and advice to approach this conversation.

Do you think Indians are too utilitarian?

…I don’t really understand this question? If you elaborate in the comments below, I’d happily offer my thoughts!

Need any remote support? Would love to ‘apprentice’ with any form of busy work! :)

You are too kind! I’m okay right now, but truly appreciate your reaching out!

Blighted ovum-horror stories on the Internet on pill vs DC- I prefer pill-any ones I need to know?

Please talk to your OB-GYN and get off the Internet. That’s all.

Reply

or to participate.