Ask Me Anything - August 28, 2020

If you had to say today, who do you think will win an election?

It gives me no pleasure to say that I think Donald Trump would win, if the election was today. But I do think the Democrats could win the Senate and hold the House.

Guys - please set up your voting plan. New York City residents - request your absentee ballot online here.

I have a huge job interview coming up. Any recommendations to help prep?

Career Contessa has a great article on this very topic. I do all of these things in an interview. Good luck!

Can you do a #5SmartReads virtual hangouts? Almost like a book club, but about an article?

I would love to! My dear friend/former intern/adopted kid sister is now at Icebreaker, a very cool video platform. Leave a comment with the best days and times for you all.

What’s your favorite quarantine/socially distanced date night?

Sushi Nonaka in the Upper West Side has a back patio and only a few tables. It’s so delicious and we’ve felt incredibly safe dining there.

Please tip as much as you possibly can when you order in or go out to eat. We tip 30% for deliveries and 50% for in-person dining.

Love your graying hair. What did you do at the salon?

Cassie (and before her, Marcy) extended the already gray areas in my roots through the length of my hair, and added more gray highlights to even it all out. I was in the salon chair for a couple of hours to get my hair light enough to tint and match my actual grays, so prepare yourself for a long process if you’re up for it.

You’ll also need to be diligent about using color-friendly products and a purple-hued hair mask to minimize brassiness. I love the Shu Uemura color-safe shampoo, Christophe Robin’s baby blond hair mask, and Overtone’s Extreme Silver conditioner and mask.

Baby led weaning or purées?

We did purées, mostly out of convenience. But both are great - it depends on what’s best for you and your family!

What are you reading right now and what’s the best book you read in quarantine?

All the books that made it on my feed are the best books I read in quarantine. Right now, I’m reading A User’s Guide To Democracy and The Ex Talk.

How do you read so many books so thoughtfully and so quickly?

Speed reading and comprehension was a necessity in high school, where I competed in extemporaneous speaking. It came especially in handy in university when I was juggling chemistry and history coursework, and now it means I can get through a book in a couple of hours and retain it.

Skincare! How do you know what advice to listen to? There’s so much info out there.

Having a chemistry degree helps me decipher a skincare label, and I was religious about monthly facials and followed the instructions of my aestheticians (in pre-COVID times). I was super impressed with Haldi’s examination of my skincare routine and concerns, and the recommendations they made.

If you’d like to give Haldi a try, use my name in the ‘who referred you?’ box.

Consistency is the name of the game with skincare. Do you routine, mask a couple of times a week, and drink a ton of water and wash your mask often.

Can you share some advice on how to manage finances with your partner?

Every difficult issue in relationships comes down to communication, and the marriage check-in and playing Fair Play (which I discuss in this podcast episode) are the two rituals that help us make weekly financial check-ins a habit.

A burnt out toddler, mom’s job is so hectic, is it wise to quit in this time to find an opportunity?

This is such a personal decision and completely dependent on your circumstances. You have to do what’s right for your family.

Hi! Are you still wiping down groceries? Immediately changing clothes after going out?

We are still changing when we get home. We remove all the groceries in our entryway and give them a quick wipe down with a sanitizing wipe.

August Amazon First Read choice?

None of them caught my eye for August, so I skipped!

Just want to say I enjoy your content! Also, how did you get to be so well-spoken?

You are too kind! Thank you so much. I think a childhood of performing - dance, singing, acting, speech and debate - definitely helped.

Would you consider replacing Dorinda on RHONY? Or who should?

I’m honored that you think I’m entertaining enough to be on the cast! I’ll pass, but appreciate your thinking of me! I think we should start completely fresh with the New York cast. I stopped watching this season after Tinsley exited.

What are your favorite things to order at Taco Bell?

I’m pretty loyal to my #1 supreme with beans instead of meat. I do miss the triple layer nachos and tostadas and cheesy fiesta potatoes, which were removed from the menu earlier this month.

Reply

or to participate.