#5SmartReads - October 31, 2022

Hitha on an important expansion of Medicaid, the demise of conventional masculinity, and a look inside BravoCon

I’m both unsurprised and disappointed about most coverage about the midterms’ crucial races. Especially the Senate race in Pennsylvania.

But I’m also very proud of my hometown paper for reporting on the debate between the Senate candidates in a non-ableist view that is lacking from most of the reporting.

I’ve witnessed my own loved ones adjust to life after traumatic brain injuries and strokes. It is incredibly brave and challenging and deserves our respect and compassion, not ridicule.

And it also offers a much needed perspective in the Senate in terms of crafting better policy:

“Fetterman showed courage in taking the debate stage in Harrisburg. Many Americans — whether from lack of experience or lack of understanding — are unaccustomed to or uncomfortable with special accommodations for those with disabilities. If elected to the U.S. Senate, Fetterman could become a role model in helping the nation better understand that a person’s struggles can also be a source of strength.”

Phans: Here for It (Here For It)

When one of my favorite people on the Internet moves to my favorite city and writes about our unique fandom with heart…well, I’m just a happy mush pile.

R. Eric Thomas - welcome to Philly, and we’re so glad you here.

Philadelphia sports fandom is unlike any other fandom in the world, and often misunderstood by the rest of the country (and world, really). But he summed it up perfectly:

“There's a lot of talk about this city being a gatekeep-y city and the true Phillies fans being very anti-fair weather fans, but I don't find that to be the case at all. I'm not originally from here and I'm not really a baseball person, but I found in 2009 and again today that Philly just wants you to be happy for Philly. And not park stupid. If the spirit moves you to climb up a greased up lamppost, as is the local tradition, have at it.”

Game 3 is tonight, back at the Park. Let’s go Phils.

This is a big freaking deal. And thank you, Vice President Harris, for your leadership on this issue.

Prior to expansion, Medicaid’s coverage for pregnancy ended 60 days after giving birth. The extension to one year (a provision from the American Rescue Plan) will not only keep parents and children covered when half would otherwise be uninsured after 60 days, but also helpfully prevent the 1/4 pregnancy-related deaths that happen within 43 days-1 year postpartum.

Welcome to BravoCon (The Ringer)

I’m a solo fan of the things I really love - Philadelphia sports teams, Star Trek, Bravo shows. While I’m unlikely to attend any large gathering of these, I am absolutely fascinated by the conferences where fans congregate with the stars of these - and BravoCon in particular.

This piece offers a detailed look at what the most recent BravoCon looked like, especially from the fans’ perspectives. The business of Bravo fascinates me as much as the drama manufactured for the shows that air on the network, and I can’t help but devour articles like these the way I crush a Taco Bell order.

What, exactly, is so addictive about a Bravo marathon?

“There’s really something to be said about the power of women living their lives on-screen. I wanted to celebrate that and celebrate women’s programming, which at the time was not revered,” former executive vice president of NBCUniversal Lauren Zalaznick said of Bravo’s sudden Housewives genesis in Dave Quinn’s oral history of the Real Housewives, Not All Diamonds and Rosé. “Men can spend 10 hours every Sunday watching the NFL, and that’s never called a guilty pleasure! That always bothered me.”

Albert Samaha’s piece is one that I can’t stop thinking about, sharing, or talking about. But there’s one observation from this article - and the quote above, in particular - that I can’t stop thinking about.

“Brady embodies a trope as old as the patriarchy: the honorable provider who clocks in even when he doesn’t feel like it, gives his fullest effort every second, and rises up the ranks of his industry, securing his family’s financial well-being. He bears this burden for his loved ones, he will tell you, and he appreciates their unyielding support because after a long day of providing, a man needs a warm embrace to come home to…

Many men hold onto that standard even though it’s a relic from a world that no longer exists.

I see many people in my life that are consciously deconstructing narratives about what we’ve been told is the norm, and write their own that aligns with their lives and values. The people I know who actively do this are women (and especially moms), my loved ones in the queer community, and people of color. Many of the narratives that society upholds were written by straight white men. And while I won’t attempt to speak on behalf of these men, I do wonder how much they consider these narratives or simply accept them as the absolute truth.

Tom and Gisele are definitely an extreme case of this, but it goes to show just how deep these narratives are woven into our minds. I invite you to share your thoughts about this piece and the narratives we’ve let define us.

Reply

or to participate.