#5SmartReads - November 18, 2022

Lale on political wins and losses, thinking globally, and working at home as a parent

Lale Cox's main role is being a mommy to 11-month-old Ethan. While he sleeps, she works as a Social Media Manager & Content Creator. She also recently launched a candle and room fragrance company, Lamoureux Fragrance Atelier, specializing in luxury handcrafted home scents and hand-poured candles with vessels that can be reused! Right now she's focused on perfecting her TikTok skills, working on Lamoureux Fragrance Holiday Gift Sets and celebrating meeting her goal of breastfeeding for 1 year!

I am not going to lie, when John Fetterman beat Moderate Conor Lamb in the primary, I let out a deep sigh, at what I thought was Democrats losing a purple seat.

Instead we watched his team, his family and the voters rally to make the next Pennsylvania Senator a progressive!

How did he do it? His senior campaign manager, Rebecca Katz, gave an interview to NY Magazine with tips every democrat strategist needs to read, especially this one "We need to give people something to get excited about besides all of their rights being taken away."

Here’s Why Stacey Abrams Lost (The Daily Beast) 

Not all election night news was amazing. Shockingly and disappointingly Stacey Abrams lost.

This is a dive into the issues plaguing her campaign by Goldie Taylor, a respected journalist and fellow Black girl who loves Stacey. We are sad for her but can't wait to see what she does next and hear from her ourselves.

"What can I do in my own community, in my own area? What do I care about? Think what you can do about it. Persuade some other people to help you." - advice from a legend.

If you need a spark to remain hopeful and keep fighting, but also a map on where to get started, then this is the article for you.

As a new "working part time from home/ SAHM" I am devouring articles on how to adjust to this new phase. I love this article because I couldn't figure out why I was having so many complicated feelings around the "privilege" of working from home with baby.

Yes it's a privilege, but its also hard as heck!

My sweet baby boy was born at just 26 weeks and to say I was woefully underprepared is an understatement.

However I was lucky enough to have a world class medical team who ensured he would be born and cared for at Morgan Stanley's Children's Hospital in NYC which is the only Level VI NICU in NYC. Had I known about the rising preterm labor crisis in America I would have been better informed and better prepared.

There are no simple answers or solutions, but informing mothers of the risks of preterm labor and what to expect with a premie baby is a great place to start.

Reply

or to participate.