#5SmartReads - May 31, 2022

Shibani on the impacts of air conditioning, used hotel soap, and how South Asain women are choosing happiness

An avid reader, Shibani shares her book reviews in her Instagram stories and highlights. She's read over 65 books already this year, so she has plenty of recommendations for you. When she's not reading, you can find her attempting to grow a cut-flower garden, on her Peloton, or out walking her dogs!

As we officially enter summer, a lot of us will be turning on our air-conditioning. And while climate change is making us hotter, in turn requiring more air-conditioning, we are adding to the problem each time we cool off. How can we balance staying cool without heating up our planet?

This is a long read, but if you're interested in learning more about fakes, particularly luxury fakes, this is a good one.

Now that we're traveling and using hotels again, do you ever wonder what happens to all those little bars of soap?

Sometimes the arc of cultural change can be painfully slow. When I married my non-Indian husband nearly 18 years ago (yes, we were practically children LOL) I was doing something very unexpected. Lucky for me, my parents DGAF about what other people thought, and were nothing short of 100% supportive. But back then, I was the exception. I'm happy to see more South Asian women blazing their own path, both professionally and personally, on their own terms.

And finally, for the cute story of the day, I share this.

Reply

or to participate.