#5SmartReads - March 8, 2022

Hitha on exercise snacking, women dealing with more pain than they should, and a look at season 2 of Bridgerton

What’s so intelligent about AI if it lands innocent people in jail?

And why are we still using this technology in the pursuit of justice?

That’s the issue that we’re facing with ShotSpotter, a gunshot detection firm whose technology has been installed in over 100 cities in the United States (with our tax dollars), and whose purported foolproof evidence has put innocent people in jail.

I believe we need reimagine public safety and a well-trained police force is a part of that. But faulty technology continuing to be deployed with little consequence is troubling and is creating more injustice, rather than a just and civil society.

I love an enemies-to-lovers trope.I love seeing more South Asians in leading roles.I love the Regency era. I LOVE Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham (K3G for those who know).

So it’s no surprise that the upcoming season of Bridgerton is basically everything I could ever want. And while Simone Ashley and Jonathan Bailey are mum on the details of this season, this interview whet my appetite even more for season 2 (for which I’m taking PTO and watching the season with my favorite Indian and English snacks, lots of chai, and an even a new Nesara caftan for the occasion).

This is what happens when women are not proportionally enrolled in clinical trials at the same levels men are, and case report forms to document adverse events are written with men in mind.

Most chemotherapeutic drugs were approved well before women were enrolled at higher rates in the early 2000s - not rationalizing this, but it’s a fair observation. That said, the severity and higher likelihood of women experiencing severe adverse effects from immunotherapy is frustrating and shows how much more work we have to do in drug development, from formulation all the way to Phase I clinical design.

Finding it hard to keep up with regular workouts? Exercise snacking may be for you.

(And unfortunately it has nothing to do with snacking while exercising).

Rather than doing a full workout over a longer stretch of time, exercise snacking is seizing those 10 minute blocks throughout the day to get in some movement.

I’ve yet to try this but it may be exactly what I need to get out of this workout rut that I’m stuck in. And lucky for me, DRYP by Soha has lots of 15 minute mini DRYPS I can choose from.

“I’m angry. I’m angry at my former dinner guest [TX attorney general Ken Paxton], but angry, too, at Gov. Greg Abbott and every other Republican who wants it both ways: advocating for “parental rights” when it comes to what children are taught in public schools, but stripping the rights of parents, including me, to raise our children as we see fit. Demanding to know a transgender child’s medical history and whether they receive lifesaving hormone therapy, but clutching their pearls if anyone asks them their vaccination status, because “it’s a HIPAA violation.””

No comments from me. Just a plea to read this piece by a mother whose reality deserves and needs to be heard.

Reply

or to participate.