#5SmartReads - March 18, 2022

Hitha on the workout we should all be doing, Nicola Coughlan, and Yemen

This week’s #5SmartReads is sponsored by Blue Apron.

Do you even work out your hands, bro?(This did not translate over writing. But I’m keeping it in anyway).

Hand strength is apparently a thing, and something we should all be focused on in our overall strength. And mercifully, it’s the easiest workout you’ll do.

Hand strength is important for future needs (a good grip to prevent falls or for potential cane or walker use), and one study even found a correlation between higher grip strength and lower blood pressure & blood sugar.

All hail Nicola Coughlan, a woman who is unapologetically herself and who spills as much tea as she possibly can about the upcoming season of Bridgerton and shares more about herself and drops some gems on body positivity, friendships, striving for more, and making you feel as if you are actually friends with her.

1 week until season 2 of Bridgerton drops! And I. Cannot. Wait.

My heart broke a little bit yesterday morning as I walked Rho to school.

“Mommy? Will there be another variant for COVID?” he asked.“Probably, bud. Numbers seem to be rising,” I replied.“Does nt tmean there’s going to be a RHO variant??”

I feel for my sweet boy and his Greek letter nickname. But I feel more deeply for humanity, as pandemic life stretches on and as we face a potential new wave of infection.

If it’s a work travel week, I try to land on the early side on Fridays, while the kids are still in school.

It gives me a chance to unpack in peace, catch up on the work that slipped through the cracks, and to meal prep for the weekend. The hour I spend organizing, chopping, marinating, and preparing the Blue Apron meals for the weekend is a peaceful time that helps me feel more settled and ease me back into “home mode.”

Plus, it gives me time to drop off my food waste in the compost bin at the farmers market and the soft plastic recycling at the grocery store by my kids’ schools. AND lunch and dinner is nearly served for the rest of the weekend.

Want to give Blue Apron a try? Get $120 across your first 6 boxes and free shipping on your first box with this link.

I had the greatest of intentions last summer - I would close the licensing deal by June, take some time to myself in July and August to focus on my kids and do the things I want to do, and go into the fall recharged and ready for the book launch.

That did not happen. But I’m working to make it so this summer, starting with pickleball.

This essay on how an editor discovered and fell in love with pickleball was so heartening and had me tracking down a family pickleball set for next day delivery, so we can introduce the kids to the game when we’re on vacation next week.

Lydia - I’m ready!

There are a number of wars happening all over the world that we’re not talking about. Take Yemen.

The 7-year long conflict - with Saudi and Iranian involvement - has caused an catastrophic humanitarian crisis that few are paying attention to, and even fewer are funding relief for.

This war has killed over 300,000 people as of the end of 2021, with children accounting for 70% of deaths. 23.4M out of the 32M who are in Yemen require humanitarian assistance.

Islamic Relief USA is an incredible nonprofit who we’ve personally vetted when we ran Bridge2Act - I’ve made a donation to them, and I hope you join me in donating what you can.

Reply

or to participate.