#5SmartReads - March 14, 2022

Hitha on sexist bias in the SAT, the political impact of tiny homes, and something really cool happening in North Carolina

As a terrible test taker, I could not be more delighted by this and slightly envious of those who get to take advantage of it.

(And I’m mercifully grateful for my MPH program which didn’t require the GRE).

This is an excellent deep-dive on the history of the exam, the research done to uncover gender bias of the exam (of which there are significant examples), and the long term implications of having this test be a part of admissions.

I can’t help but think of the foot on our necks that the late Justice Ginsberg referred to in one of her most famous quotes. And I’m glad that things are changing, albeit slowly.

Tiny houses are more than a trend. For indigenous activists in Canada, they’re a powerful form of protest to protect their land and help their people.

“Though the Tiny House Warriors ultimately want to stop expansion altogether, they offer something more tangible in the process: efficient housing that can revitalize traditional nomadic culture. At a time when 80 percent of indigenous "reserves" in Canada (what we'd call "reservations" in the U.S.) have median incomes below the country's poverty line, Manuel says their tiny homes—both cheap and easy to build—can help solve a crisis that's only getting worse.”

I feel like I’ve been a bit of a broken record about this point (and it’s a big reason why I’m going back to school for my MPH). But I’m also heartened that local health agencies are trying to do something about it.

North Carolina’s project may be the most ambitious I’ve seen to date, in their reimbursing local nonprofits offering solutions to help people get and stay healthy.

While I wish eligibility was expanded for this program (currently, it’s limited to Medicaid enrollees who have a qualifying health condition AND a social risk factor), it is a start.

And I hope that the program offers reimbursement for the 10 years to determine if baseline health is truly improved and sustained in the enrollees, and to quantify the ROI to help launch similar programs in other states.

I still reach for one of my M.M.LaFleur dresses when I need to dress to impress (my blue Emily dress is steamed and ready for tomorrow’s speaking engagement).

And when I’m having a hunker-down-and-catch-up day in my home office, I’m in my camel cashmere sweatsuit, also designed by MM and feel like you’re wearing a hug.

MM has grown in the 9 years they’ve been dressing those who want to show up and show out in work environments, and they’re continuing to grow and evolve through a global pandemic and as how we work changes.

I could not be more proud of Sarah and Miyako, as an investor and a friend. And this interview has me even more excited for what’s next for the brand.

In my ongoing plea of “please try to avoid getting COVID,” I give you this.

It can cause neurological damage to those who even had mild infections, and we’re still learning more as we research these conditions further.

We are still learning more about long COVID-neurological impact, but what I’ve seen is enough for me to continue to take precautions as best I can.

I sincerely hope you do the same. Please.

Reply

or to participate.