#5SmartReads- March 11, 2022

Abigail on colonoscopies, the guardians of family history, and the best show on television right now

Abigail is based in Brooklyn and loves long walks and oyster happy hours. She writes This Needs Hot Sauce, a food newsletter, contributes to various publications and teaches cooking classes.

With the war in Ukraine and rising anti-Semitism, the Holocaust is on my mind. My friend Hannah wrote beautifully about being a descendant of Holocaust survivors and the legacy survivors carry. Their stories are sacred and cannot be forgotten.

Harm reduction is such an important public health concept and I hope someday kits like are as common as first aid kits at restaurants and clubs. They save lives!

I haven't gotten a colonoscopy (yet) but I appreciated this frank account of the process (lots of poop), which is crucial for detecting cancer and other conditions. This comment has stuck with me too: "My mother, a colon cancer survivor, always said that if everyone who participated in a “cancer walk” would commit instead to drive a person to and from their procedure, more people would be saved, since that can be a huge barrier and very awkward ask."

I love a dessert with some salt (I always sprinkle flakey salt on top of my chocolate chip cookies) and I can't wait to try this brownie tip next time I make some!

Abbott Elementary is an absolute delight and I look forward to it every week (the Gregory Janine slow burn is killing me). I love how they're using the reach of the show to support schools around the country. It's inspiring and so needed.

Reply

or to participate.