#5SmartReads - June 14, 2022

Abigail on helping elderly Asain folks, Tom Cruise's flight school training, and how the tax credit ending hurts families

Abigail is the founder of This Needs Hot Sauce Inc, a Brooklyn based media company featuring a newsletter, cooking classes, and more. She just went full time freelance and is reveling in midday walks and the joys of working from anywhere.

I've supported Heart Of Dinner since the start of the pandemic and am so glad to see them spotlighted here. Caring for Asian seniors in a loving, culturally relevant way is such important work.

My boyfriend and I saw Top Gun Maverick in theaters and I'm contemplating seeing it again. It was a movie with lots of heart and obviously, lots of action. I loved this BTS look at the training program—I would not be able to handle it but I'm glad these actors did.

Day 1 (1000 Words Of Summer)

Do you have a writing project you've been meaning to start? Consider #1000wordsofsummer, an initiative from Jami Attenberg, where you write 1000 words a day for many days in a row. The newsletter includes support, guest essays, and writing tips and I highly recommend joining in.

The childhood tax credit cut childhood poverty in half. Then it ended and American families are once again struggling to feed their children. It's appalling and needs to be a political priority. We have the data that this program works and there's no greater investment than in the well being of children.

I plan to pose this question at my next dinner with friends and I'm curious to hear their responses. I thought about a solo trip to Northwest Argentina I took while studying abroad in Buenos Aires. I met some Australian friends in a hostel courtyard and wound up joining them for a road trip with unbelievable scenery, wine tastings, and food. It was unforgettable and I'm so glad I went.

Reply

or to participate.