#5SmartReads - June 13, 2022

Shibani on Grandfluencers, decriminalizing drugs, and why you're not actually a mess

Shibani lives in Cleveland, Ohio. She reviews books in her Instagram stories and highlights (80+ reviews already this year) and is trying to grow a colorful cut flower garden in her backyard.

This is a very cool story about a young kid whose hobby turned into a teen job turned into something so much bigger. If you enjoy mysteries and true crime, and fancy yourself an amateur detective, this is for you.

I'm in my 40s, and I've been spending a decent amount of time thinking about what I want my life to look like when I'm older. We are so lucky to live in a time when we have access to so many different views and styles of aging. I, for one, intend to have a very full, glamorous old age, like these guys.

When I was in my Masters program, I wrote a paper on the economics of decriminalizing drugs. I went into it thinking “cannabis” and my research led to the conclusion that it should really be all drugs. There were many reasons including mental health, addition is a disease, the cost of prisons on communities (both monetary and non monetary), racism, classism - at the end I couldn’t come up with a single reason that drugs should not be decriminalized, regulated and taxed, with the proceeds being used to fund healthcare. This trial is a step in the right direction.

If you think you’re a hot mess, you almost certainly think you are messier than you are. Are you holding yourself to ridiculous standards and then think you’re a mess for not meeting them?! Stop doing this to yourself!!!

I like to end my curated Smart Reads with something light, and today is no exception. If you follow me on Instagram, then you know that Funny You Should Ask is one of my favorite books of the year. I only recently learned it is based on a GQ interview with Chris Evans from 2011. I didn't picture Chris Evans while I read it (I pictured Channing Tatum) but I can totally see his charm ooze through the page. This interview takes place on the cusp of Captain America, before Chris Evans was CHRIS EVANS.

Reply

or to participate.