#5SmartReads - July 29, 2022

Diksha on how it pays to be a Peloton instructor, and the new term "FaceHate," and where Min Jin Lee's writing ability comes from

Diksha is working on the global COVID-19 response by day, and mom to 2. NY denizen, Nepal citizen, third culture kid. Her interests include reading, sustainability, news junkie and cooking. You can follow her here.

The Sleep Debt Collector Is Here (The New York Times)

Anyone in a sleep rut? My sleep habits have gotten so fantastically bad that I'm sure which one to try to rectify first. This article on the damaging effects of lack of sleep (long lasting brain damage! incrased risk of neurogenerative disorders!) makes me realize I need to prioritize my sleep issues. And I definitely was one of those believing I could catch up on lost sleep, a myth this article debunks.

Speak to any Peloton devotee and they have their favorite instructor/s who feels like a personal friend. The parasocial relationship we feel to them and the big bucks they're raking in through partnerships is quite fascinating to observe! I think Peloton's greatest strength is their fantastic instructors and how deeply passionate many of us feel about our favorite ones.  Whether it's following Emma on IG or remembering Aditi's tips for deep breaths throughout the day, these relationships do feel intensely personal. 

FaceHate is a new to me term, but I can't disagree that the incessant staring at Zoom screens is making us all observe too many face features/expressions we're unhappy with and the resulting face dysmorphia. The "mirror work" that this article details as a way to stop this bad habit is something I've been giving a try as odd as it feels. It’s too early to report on results, but I've also taken to purposefully challenge myself not look at myself while on video calls. That's been a positive change.

This was just a fascinating read about nomadic Gujjars in the Aru Valley of Kashmir and the food they serve. Food always tells so much about a people's story and history, and this fascinating read is no different.  It's one of my favorite things about travel and while I don't have any immediate travel plans to the Aru Valley, I do plan to look up some recipes to try.  Skip this read if you're hungry ;)

I've been on a personal obsession to read everything Min Jin Lee has ever written, and listen to her sage voice on podcasts (I've listened twice to her recent appearance on Preet Bharara's podcast. Her observations, wit and beautiful writing resonate on such a deep level. I find myself nodding my head to so much of her commentary, and feeling so seen by her writing.  This is an article from last year and I was left with a reading list of books to keep me busy this summer. 

Reply

or to participate.