#5SmartReads - July 1, 2022

Abigail on why we need to stop calling it an Asain salad, checking infrastructure in cities, and the 'going-out book'

Abigail is a New Yorker and oyster lover. She founded This Needs Hot Sauce, a media company with a weekly newsletter. She just went full time freelance and is working on being a good boss to herself.

My friend Lambert is in this show and I'm so excited to see it this month! Off Broadway theater is always full of surprises (and more affordable than Broadway) and I can't wait to watch this show!

Stop Calling It Asian Salad (Consumer Reports)

Asia is a vast continent that cannot be encompassed in one salad. We know this and yet Asian salads (or Chinese chicken salads) are on so many menus and based on stereotypes about Asian food. This article concludes with recipes for actual salads from Asian chefs, which show a glimpse at the continent's incredible culinary diversity.

I live near the BQE and I get so concerned when I look at it sometimes (not to mention all the air pollution). This article has tips on how to contact the right agency if you notice something wrong and it's a reminder that we need to investigate in the city's infrastructure.

I love this story about Camilla Wynne being her full self in the kitchen. As she points out, googling "gay bakers" usually leads to stories about bakers refusing to make wedding cakes for queer couples. It's so important to change that narrative and showcase queer professionals and their many talents (and I love that King Arthur Baking made a donation to support LGBT youth in Vermont as well).

I love this quote, “The one nonnegotiable, though, is that your going-out book must be something you’re truly excited about reading, something so seductive that just catching sight of it in your tote bag fills you with anticipatory glee.” I hope your summer is full of great reading and I love the idea of matching your outfit to your book.

Reply

or to participate.