#5SmartReads - February 22, 2022

Hitha on THOSE gold goblets, one guaranteed prediction about COVID, and Candace Owens' long con

I feel like I’m a broken record about this, but our health system is not equipped to transition into COVID being an endemic state for a couple of reasons:

  1. The virus just isn’t there yet.

  2. Our hospital systems are not ready to handle upcoming variants, long COVID, and current health needs.

Human adaptation is the only axis we can control with regards to this pandemic. While it’s deeply annoying and frustrating to live with these precautions, it is the reason that in NYC, the test positivity rate’s 7 day average is under 2% and things are safely opening up again.

It gives me no joy to share articles that urge caution based on the science, but I do feel it is important to remind us all that nothing has changed about basic virology, but our behavior and our exhaustion with life this way is understandably relaxing our behavior.

At this point, it’s all about what we do individually. My hope is that most of us will continue to take precautions until we can safely transition into an endemic state.

Sephora is thrilled with the number of products I’ve bought on Seerat Saini’s recommendation. My budget…not so much.

I have no regrets. Especially that so many of her recommendations are affordable DIY ones that WORK.

Her rosemary hair mask is one of my favorites. And I’m so thrilled to see Seerat’s incredible content get the credit it deserves in THE beauty bible, Allure.

I’ll leave you with Seerat’s wise words here:

“I want to remind them [South Asian women] and all women who are minorities in America how effervescent and powerful they are. I think the world screams at us, trying to take our power away starting from such a young age. I want women to reclaim that power whether it's through beauty, fashion, or self-expression. I want them to know you don't become powerful, you are born that way.”

A lot of you were rightfully shocked about this post:

For those of us who have been doing their best to fight Owen’s misinformation highly lucrative misinformation machine, it comes to no surprise.

Her anti-vaccine propaganda series publishing exclusively on Parler is but one of many grifts Owens has embarked on in order to earn a lot of money. And this deeply researched piece on NewsOne (with a healthy level of snark) details her most egregious ones.

Special thanks to Spivey for sharing this first.

I can’t help but obsess over these gold wine glasses every time I watch Love Is Blind - and feel like I need them?

I don’t. No one needs them. But their odd allure is something that also keeps me watching the show, mostly to see if they feature in the reception decor of the weddings.

Apparently, one of the producers of the show likes the uniformity and the je ne sais quoi they add to the show, hence their presence.

A weird and extremely niche smart read, but indulge me, please. And thank you.

Climate change has brought us a rather mild winter, with stretches of spring-like weather in the middle of February that has New Yorkers smiling and in the best mood.

I can’t even imagine how the incredibly important farmers are managing this. But this article showcases just how hard our farmers will be hit, especially in Missouri.

I hope you take the time to read (or listen to!) every single farmer’s recounting of their perilous reality in this piece.

I have no hopeful actions for you to take, except for maybe shopping from your local farmer’s market whenever you can (and you should!).

Reply

or to participate.