#5SmartReads - February 14, 2022

Hitha on long COVID, heartbreak, and Sarah J. Maas

For all the press I have read about removing public health safety measures (most of which feel politically motivated, not scientifically motivated), it was difficult to find reporting that advocates for continued measures due to long COVID.

My gratitude to the editorial board of the Star Tribune for publishing such a piece that is nuanced and rooted in the science.

I’m more cautious about COVID because of my son too young to be vaccinated and a severely immunocompromised family member I see often. I also firmly believe that good public health guidance is developed with the most vulnerable in mind first.

Long COVID is adding to our numbers of most vulnerable. Anything we can do to reduce the incidence and rates of long COVID is worth it to me personally, and it’s why I will continue to wear KN95 masks, test frequently, and try to minimize my social gatherings when possible.

All I ask is that we think of others before we act, even if we’re all tired of living like this.

I’ve never been more envious of a teenager before. But Laura137 snagged a dream gig - interviewing both Sarah J Maas and Leigh Bardugo nearly 8 years ago - and the interview holds up.

There’s something very special about a diehard fan interviewing the authors she admires so much, and when the authors are as generous and forthcoming as Maas and Bardugo.

I feel very vindicated in my new fandom of Maas and plan to pick up Bardugo’s Grishaverse series (and attempt The Ninth House again) once I finish ACOTAR.

Do you know the symptoms of a heart attack?

It’s not always the shortness of breath or sudden chest or shooting pain down your arm. It can be a lot more subtle than that.

And even if you go to the emergency department to get these subtle symptoms examined - nausea, anxiety, or indigestion - they may be dismissed and you get sent home.

I know we’re being bombarded by images of cartoon hearts and flowers and love today, but it’s also American Heart Month and there’s no better time for you to familiarize yourself with these subtle symptoms and how to advocate for yourself (“I understand my symptoms are not the most common ones for a suspected MI (myocardial infarction), but I will not leave until I’ve been triaged for a suspected MI - aspirin, an EKG, and a troponin blood test.”)

So many women’s heart attacks go undiagnosed. Please share this article with the women you love, and urge them to seek care if they are having any of these symptoms.

And to talk about emotional hearts, this article absolutely gutted me.

Friendships, like any relationship, require work. Some will last a lifetime, some a season, and some for a simple reason. And while it can seem easy to fall into a friendship, ending one doesn’t have the same model that a romantic breakup does.

Friendship is as vital to me as breathing, water, or sleep. The older I get, the more I treasure them and make them a priority.

But this line shook me:

“The unhappy truth of the matter is that it is normal for friendships to fade, even under the best of circumstances. The real aberration is keeping them.”

I needed to grab some tissues halfway through reading this, so you’ve been warned.

When we think about American workers, I feel like the media defaults to a few buckets: office workers who are now working remotely, teachers who are grappling with stagnant wages and the pressure of staying safe with rogue school boards, and essential workers (both healthcare and non-healthcare) who have put their literal lives on the line to keep things running.

We don’t talk nearly enough about those who work in factories, and as the United States tries to rebuild its manufacturing industry, we need to be talking more about this labor force and what’s happening.

The current lack of workers and constant onboarding has a significant impact to the bottom line, at a time when we need production to be growing:

“Constant on-boarding of new employees hurts business, he said. “Right now, we're paying two operators on the same machine. … Even if we are 100-percent efficient, we're only 50 percent because we're paying twice as much labor [and] get only half as much output.””

The workforce is not a monolith. I hope we take care to consider the entire spectrum of workers when we think about the economy, job growth, and wages. No matter the job, every worker deserves dignity in wages, safety, and job security.

Reply

or to participate.