#5SmartReads - February 11, 2022

Hitha on extinction, the history of the Underground Railroad, and Morgan Jenkins

Here’s a history lesson you probably never learned (and may not make any new history textbooks in certain states).

Slaves escaping to northern states is pretty well documented, but it turns out the Underground Railroad had a southern route as well.

South to Freedom: Runaway Slaves to Mexico and the Road to the Civil War examines the southern journey to freedom of the thousands of slaves who settled in northern Mexico, and the abolitionists in southern states that helped them get there.

The US National Park Service (in this administration, at least) is working on expanding its Underground Railroad route from Louisiana through Texas and into Mexico.

I found this story so fascinating, and can’t wait to read the book.

This is one of my favorite series on the Internet, and this might be one of my favorite entries in this series.

Mostly because of how honest Morgan Jenkins is about wishing she could wake up later. And while it’s for different reasons (she’s a morning person, I am not), I appreciate the honesty.

I also appreciate her commitment to naps.

A lot of the time, interviews like these have a lot of faux self-flattery, but Jenkins embodies honoring her accomplishments, humility, and hustle in such an honest way.

This one is favorited on my Pocket app and I find myself coming back to it when I’m having a low moment. I hope it inspires you the way it has inspired me.

The rising military tensions in Ukraine and Russia aren’t simply because of Putin’s apparent desire to reunify the Soviet Union or Ukraine’s desire for democracy and to join NATO.

It also has a lot to do with energy, namely Europe’s reliance on Russia for natural gas and oil.

No conflict was ever started, intensified, or ended because of a single issue. Russia’s power as an energy provider to most European countries is one factor I’m newly aware of, and will be a significant factor in this conflict.

If I had a dollar for every day that I spend in workout clothes all day - and not work out…

Well, I could afford more workout sets from Worthy Threads to comfortably work from my couch wearing.

My very wise friend Neeti inspires me to get on my meditation cushion most days, and these asanas will help me hit the mat after I’ve been hunched over my laptop for hours a day.

My favorites are salabhasana (locust pose) and hands and knees with wrist stretch, and viparita karani (legs against the wall) is a longtime favorite.

You can easily do these next to your desk when you have a few minutes between your calls (mat optional). Bookmark this and put 10 minutes on your calendar to get in a little flow.

You’ll thank yourself - and Neeti - later.

What would you do if coffee went extinct? Or wheat? Or even wine?

It seems impossible, right? It’s not.

We think of the dinosaurs or do-do birds when we think of extinction, but some of our most favorite foods are currently vulnerable to becoming extinct.

It seems as important than the former president attempting to flush confidential documents down the toilet, no? At least?

I will leave you with this incredibly eye-opening (and surprisingly entertaining) article about what food extinction looks like and where we’re at. It’s definitely worth your time.

Reply

or to participate.