#5SmartReads - February 10, 2022

Hitha on inflation, the opioid epidemic, and how to write a novel

What do you do about a problem like inflation?

The two options aren’t great, and stand to be even more uncertain if political winds shift (and they often always do).

Here’s the bottom line:

“Inflation hurts. Recessions can hurt more. Ultimately, economic policymakers are betting that tolerating some pain now in hopes that conditions look better in a year or so is safer option.”

Also, a gentle reminder that the stock market is not the same as the economy. And one day, I’ll bring back the podcast.

First things first - go get a copy of Tory Hoen’s novel (requesting it at your library counts!)

Ordered or reserved? Excellent.

Every writer has their own process. Mine is pure chaos that I dedicate myself to for a sprint (though I hope book #3 will go differently). Tory Hoen went about writing The Arc differently, with the chaos and emotional roller coaster that every author inevitably finds herself on.

I’ve found that writing a book is similar to any really big goal - it’s going to be really hard, you’ll flounder at some points and flourish in others, and knowing yourself well and creating your plan on how you work is when you’ll hit your stride.

Empire of Pain was one of the best books I read in the past couple of months (thanks for the recommendation, Traci). And I could not agree more wholeheartedly with the recommendations that the Commission on Combating Synthetic Opioid Trafficking made.

The cross-functional approach involving law enforcement, the State Department, Health & Human Services, and coordination from local governments up to a dedicated Cabinet-level position is am ambitious recommendation to an overwhelming problem.

And unlike most of the news that’s trending these days, this has significant bipartisan support.

With the Build Back Better plan (as the House passed) on the back burner, I hope both chambers of our legislative branch look for opportunities to work across the aisle to help save American lives.

Dr. Uché Blackstock puts my multi-hyphenate game to shame.

Mother. Physician. Entrepreneur. One of the voices I continue to trust the most when it comes to public health and our response to COVID.

As we get bombarded with gushy tributes to partners and sales promotions of Valentine’s Day gifts, I urge you to block out the noise and read Blackstock’s beautiful words on how loving yourself - and acting with that love - is the best gift any of us could receive. This quote from her essay really spoke to me:

“We are socialized to expectations. We are conditioned to believe that we’re checking off boxes for success when we are actually boxing ourselves in. I realized that just being a wife and mother was not enough for me. I wanted and needed the space to just be me — all of me. Not only “mama.” Not only “boo.” Not only “Dr. Blackstock.” Me. Uché.”

(She’s excellent on Twitter as well - go follow her there as well!)

If this is accepted by both governments, it could be a very big deal.

Big emphasis on the if.

I’d like to think that there is a solution for both Israel and Palestine to both exist, with defined borders that are respected by each country without violence.

The Palestinian and Israeli leaders working on this plan understand the difficulty that lies ahead and that compromises will have to be made by governments and militants who are seemingly hostile to it.

The plan will be presented to the United Nations Security-General and the United States’ State Department next week, and it has already been shared with Israel and Palestinian officials who are open to the idea of compromise.

What happens next? We won’t know - but I hope this is a start.

Reply

or to participate.