#5SmartReads - December 6, 2022

Hitha on micro actions/macro impact in how we work, who we follow, and East Africa

Pardon my French here, but I wish the leaders of companies (that can leverage a predominantly remote workforce) would get their heads out of their butts and see that there’s a better way of working.

Because remote, asynchronous work does work. And in my experience, it’s been incredibly successful.

Unfortunately for those working remotely or who are seeking a remote job, the growing demand is outpacing the shrinking supply. And it’s a shame.

“Although performance is still strong, we’re seeing other things erode — like collaboration, engagement and how we demonstrate our culture as One U.S. Bank,” Chief Executive Andy Cecere wrote in a memo to employees. “Being in the office won’t solve this at once, but it can and will help.”

This is the argument for workers returning to the office - and I’d like to offer my counter on these items.

If collaboration and engagement is demonstrated by attendance in meetings, I’d like to ask how effective those meetings are. Are key decisions being made or projects advanced, or is it just a chance for those who love the sound of their own voice a chance to parrot the same old talking points everyone has heard? What kind of culture doesn’t trust their team enough to get work done promptly and efficiently on their own terms, and deprioritizes their team’s own well being in the name of culture?

I think it is important for teams to gather live, but it simply doesn’t have to be daily or even weekly. And while that’s my opinion and my experience in running a smaller company, it’s also validated by companies like Microsoft and HP.

We can choose a new way of working that’s better aligned to the needs of the worker. That we choose not to is a shame.

Speaking of “the way we work isn’t working,” let me introduce you to a book that I’m very excited to read next year. Beloved Economies explores what an economy that values - even loves! - the individuals and communities contributing to it. And this is not fiction. Remington and Cea look at elements of beloved economies that exist right now, and paints a picture of what could be if we dare change.

What I found most empowering from the authors’ interview with Anne Helen Petersen is how much power we have at the individual and team level:

“However, what our research has shown us is that, across the board, all of us tend to have more latitude than we think we do. And then when teams of people intentionally reimagine and re-make how we work together, that doing so is a powerful force for change. It creates precedent and examples that shift practice in sectors, in geographies, and can even change what gets on the table as potential policy and then enacted as policy. We are not saying: forget policy advocacy or the political process or labor organizing or other forms of community organizing. To the contrary. We are saying: all of these levers are vital. And there is a lever that is under-recognized, and underutilized: the lever of teams intentionally reimagining and re-building how they work.”

Clearly, work and worth is on my mind since publishing last weekend’s newsletter and the ensuing conversation on Instagram.

And while we tend to focus on the individual and the economy at scale, there’s movement in between that’s worth exploring - and Sara Petersen’s excellent newsletter is a careful study in how mothers, in particular, are impacted by and drive this change.

I value every parent’s choice to do what is best for their family, and only you know what is the best for you and your family (and I also believe primary parenting deserves far more respect and a much-needed rebrand, and my friend Neha is leading the charge here).

Influence carries a lot of power, and I know a lot of creators use their platforms to advance causes they care about, as is their right and responsibility. And while I know firsthand that we as creators are sharing what works for us, it’s important to recognize the impact of those words, as Sara explores in this essay.

This passage is especially powerful - and I encourage you to read the whole essay to understand the why behind it:

“Because of the systemic constraints of American motherhood, many American mothers live their lives in a state of perpetual longing for something, anything, that will make life feel less impossible, less existentially fraught. For something, as Megan writes, that “makes sense” in a country with utterly nonsensical maternal policies.

And many conservative momfluencers offer a way of life, that seems, for all its political dissonance, singularly simple. For mothers who live in a society with almost no social safety nets or institutional support, a culture which demands mothers adhere to impossible ideals and cherish every moment even if their moments are making them miserable or even sick, a lifestyle which promises fulfillment, ease, harmony, and freedom from doubt sounds pretty damn appealing.Not just to Trumpers and climate change deniers, but to me.”

East Africa is in the midst of a hunger crisis - and international aid organizations and the United Nations are waiting on the reporting of data before they make a declaration of famine.

When the UN waited on data to make a declaration in 2011, over 250,000 people in Somalia died - and over half passed before the declaration was made.

I’m somewhat heartened to see the United States take quick action in sending funds to East Africa as a part of an overall humanitarian package (and I wish we would do the same in Afghanistan and other nations).

The invasion of Ukraine has naturally drawn most of the attention and affected the global food supply, but it’s important to recognize the need that exists all over this planet, and that we typically don’t report in regions like Africa and Asia until it’s too late - and even then, we fail to learn from the lessons of the past.

If you are able to give, Action Against Hunger is a charity that we had vetted in my old company Bridge2Act and has a fund specifically for the East Africa Hunger Crisis. Please donate, and I will match all donations up to $500 (you can hit reply on this newsletter with your receipt or DM me a screenshot on Instagram).

This entire time, I’ve been thinking that I was the problem behind my lack of focus and ability to pay attention (and have subsequently been trying to hack my way to better focus).

It’s not just you. Your brain is doing its best in a new world that’s designed to distract and seize our attention. And I fear what will happen if we don’t reclaim our brains - and teach our kids to do the same.

This article goes into the social science and history of how we got here, and it’s worth every second of your focused attention you can give it.

The theme of today’s newsletter feels like “do what you can as an individual first, and brainstorm how to take action at a larger scale.” And when it comes to reclaiming your attention, here are some things that have helped me:

  • I’m a broken record about my Walking Pad but engaging my lower body and core requires enough brain power that I can only focus on one work task at a time - it’s a forced focus, if you will. Walking while writing or catching up on e-mails has helped me blaze through my day’s work in just a couple of hours, and my body feels better and stronger with this modest amount of movement.

  • I’ve been scheduling my leisure time first when I plan out my day - what craft I’ll be working on or what cheesy Christmas movie I’m going to watch with my dad, when, and for how long. Knowing that I have that to look forward to helps me plan my work tasks accordingly. I know this is a privilege I’m lucky to have as the CEO of my company and one that operates remotely, but even planning which show you’re going to watch or book you’re going to read, the bath you’re going to take or a way to zhush up a shower, the pajamas you’ll wear, the tea you’ll make - can bring a sense of anticipation and excitement for that leisure time later in the day. Give it a try!

  • Schedule “no phone/no computer” blocks in your day - even if it’s just 5 minutes to take a walk around the block, or to lie on the ground with your legs up the wall (viparita karani), or to skim a magazine or book. Start small and focus on consistency. Reclaiming and rebuilding our attention is something that won’t happen overnight, so set your daily goal accordingly.

Reply

or to participate.