#5SmartReads - December 15, 2022

Hitha on arctic warming, Glennon Doyle, and the point of the British monarchy

Yesterday’s news on nuclear fusion seems even more necessary given this particular headline.

"These continuously record-breaking years are turning the accelerated rate of climate change in the Arctic into 'a new normal' rate of change," said Sue Natali, an Arctic research scientist who was not directly involved in the report.

"This is especially concerning because it's causing increasingly severe climate hazards for the people of the Arctic and globally."

The increased frequency and intensity of these warm spells isn’t the only cause of concern. Our ability to monitor these changes has traditionally been a global effort, with Russia’s involvement closed off by the other seven countries deeply involved with this research.

And for as bad things seem, they can always get worse. But they can also get better - and that’s what I hope for.

“These memory-loss romances tend to unfold in much the same way. Our materialistic, careerist protagonist suffers some sort of snow-related head injury shortly before Christmas, and then is rescued by a hot, charitable stranger who nurses them back to health, with the two falling in love even though the protagonist doesn’t know who they are. (Which seems problematic to me but, okay!) Eventually, their memory is fully restored — usually as the result of some sort of confrontation with their previous, lesser life — and everyone lives happily ever after, with tons of comfy flannels and a healthy work-life balance.”

My love for tropes like enemies to lovers, or professional athletes or fictional billionaires (the only billionaires I can stand) are well documented by what I read. And when it comes to Christmas movies, I love my films featuring royalty, Vanessa Hudgens playing multiple characters, and amnesia plots.

Did I watch Falling For Christmas 3 times this season? You bet I did.

It wasn’t until I stumbled upon this read that I realized how common the amnesia storyline is in my beloved Christmas films. I loved learning about the different types of amnesia from this smart read, and their impact in film and entertainment.

A global budget has been an incredibly effective method to reduce healthcare costs - and the inevitable medical debt in uncivil society - while keeping access to care high.

Don’t believe me? Go ask Germany (and Maryland!)

“In German health plans, known as sickness funds, there aren't typically deductibles.

Physician visits are almost always free for patients. Copays for most prescription drugs are capped at 10 euros or less, about $10. And people admitted to the hospital pay only 10 euros a day.

“Access to medical care with minimal costs for patients has been essential," said Armin Beck, regional director of the Knappschaft Bahn See, of KBS, a health insurance plan whose roots stretch back to the 13th century, when miners set up a mutual aid society to protect one another in case of injuries or accidents. "This has been a foundation of our community," Beck said.”

So how do they do it?

“Maintaining this system has required that Germany do something else that U.S. policymakers have historically eschewed. Germany, like most wealthy nations, regulates the prices that hospitals, doctors and drugmakers can charge. This regulation occurs through a highly structured system in which insurers negotiate collectively with physician and hospital groups to set prices.”

The global budget pilot in Maryland has been successful and has bipartisan support. I hope to see more states create pilot programs, and to help dictate a federal policy to reign in health costs along with widespread medical debt forgiveness.

I am a diehard Glennon fan (I remember seeing her speak at a 2012 conference hosted by Ladies Home Journal and immediately picking up her first book). 10 years later and with both of us leading very different lives, I’m still here - and still in deep admiration of her and her work.

There are so many work and life gems from this piece, but I wanted to share some nuggets that spoke to me:

  • keeping your team small and working in a manner that works for you, not what everyone else is doing. This is reflected in both Rhoshan Pharma and in #5SmartReads and I’m grateful for our nimble teams who I fully trust to get everything done. I’d like to keep it this way for the long haul.

  • Shifting perception of mental illness as something we suffer from to something that strengthens us. While it’ll be hard for me to hold these words when my anxiety is spiking or I’m in a depressive episode, I will do my best to remind myself of it on good days.

  • I’m ditching the five year plan. This is something I’ve discussed a lot with my therapist and my coach, but I’ve finally dissociated myself from the “when I’m able to step away from pharma” because I think I’ll always have some role in healthcare and especially in biopharma, but it’s about taking care of myself now and in these moments to sustain me through the roller coaster of drug development.

I’ll be watching the second half of Harry & Meghan’s docuseries today, but I have to say that this headline has been on my mind since watching the first half last week.

The goal of the monarchy has always been survival. How each monarch survives is another topic entirely, and it has more to do with what’s happening in the world. The “life of service” ethos that Queen Elizabeth II committed to as the heir presumptive was to establish a new purpose of the royal family, as the countries of the empire gained independence (and one could argue that the Commonwealth is Empire 2.0, with Britain having the most to gain). The idea that the royals are patrons of impactful nonprofits is a very purpose, and integral to their survival after WWII.

“Adapt or die” are how monarchies survive. Is the British monarchy adapting to the changing times fast enough? Does the Commonwealth benefit its member nations enough to warrant its survival, or will countries depart under the reigns of Kings Charles, William, and George?

And does simply surviving warrant the investment and role of the British royal family as they have been? Time will tell, but I really appreciated the history and the analysis outlined in this article.

Reply

or to participate.