#5SmartReads - April 4, 2022

Hitha on decriminalizing drugs, crimes against humanity, and what simmer sauces say about our identities

This week’s #5SmartReads is sponsored by Blue Apron.

trigger warning - graphic images, crimes against humanity

The Russian forces may be retreated from Kyiv, but the crimes against humanity that they’ve committed in this war - and specifically in Irpin and Bucha - are atrocious and heartbreaking.

The widespread murders of the residents of these towns - adult-age men, most specifically - is consistent with Putin’s many atrocities waged, and as difficult it is to process this news, it’s something we need to be aware of as a greater pattern - and if other autocratic leaders may follow this playbook.

“Trying to let go of the idea that there is some singular way to be Indian has given me an easier time seeing my culture and choices as things I legitimately enjoy about myself. I like the way Indian gold looks on my skin, and the way my Kali tattoo hugs my ribs. I like taking Hindi lessons, texting Didu “Aap kaise hain?” and understanding what she says in response. And I like being able to throw some frozen shrimp and peas and a jar of golden coconut curry in a pot just as much as I like spending an evening rolling out my own roti. Neither makes me more or less of anything. As if they could.”

First - if you aren’t zhushing up your Indian home cooking with Brooklyn Delhi, you are missing out because they are DELICIOUS.

Second, this is more than just an essay about how delicious their simmer sauces are. It’s a beautiful piece about identity, culture, and belonging, and this particular quote that Jaya Saxena wrote spoke to my soul.

I have yet to dip a toe into crypto - but I do know that at some point in the future, I likely will.

This article is the best ‘crypto for beginners’ explainer that I’ve found - not pro- or anti-crypto, but just a simple primer on what it is, how it works, and the current market landscape.

And if you’re looking to learn more about NFTs in particular, I highly recommend WAGMI, my friend Michelle’s resource to help educate more people about crypto and NFTs and build a more inclusive community in the space.

Aaaah, Mondays. They begin with the best of intentions - coffee enjoyed in relative peace, a phoneless walk after dropping the kids off at school, having planned my day out the Sunday evening before.

But by 5 pm, my inboxes are a disaster and the kids are jumping off their chairs instead of eating their dinner and I’m about to lose it - and sometimes, I do.

Playing some calming music, pouring myself some sparkling water in a fancy glass, and preparing something for dinner is what helps me get back on track. And Blue Apron is what comes to my rescue on the dinner front. Their selection is incredible (I’m looking forward to harissa-honey tofu bowls, spicy vegetable quesadillas, and creamy fettuccine this week), and every dish is ready in less than an hour. Which is just about the time I need to turn the day around.

Want to give Blue Apron a try? Get $110 across your first 5 boxes and free shipping on your first box with this link.

“Morris and Tuttle are both sharpening their artistic identities, but they're also reinventing what staying invested in their genres of origin can look and sound and feel like — how to make room for their expansions in perspective and expression while working within the confines of convention.”

My taste is eclectic when it comes to music, books, shows and films when it comes to genre. I like what I like, and I like art that’s meant to spark joy and thought and comfort.

Often art that reflects these values is dismissed as only for women (and what’s so wrong about that?) or not serious art, but that’s another subject for another day.

I really love Maren Morris and Molly Tuttle for music that I can enjoy listening to when my kids are in the room, whose lyrics and melodies speak to me, and for the values the women themselves stand for. And I loved learning more about them in this very thoughtful piece.

What does decriminalization of drugs - and significant investments in recovery and public health programs - look like?

Oregon knows. And while it’s still early days still, the new policy has made an impact (albeit a slow one). Oregon could do more with requiring more than calling a hotline or paying a small fine, and it looks like that’s what they plan to explore as the program is refined.

But it’s a start - and a very important one, at that.

Reply

or to participate.