#5SmartReads - April 13, 2022

Hitha on why Philadelphia is the best city, on my wise friends Aditi and Julia, and the undervaluing of American lives

If I could have a crush on a city’s COVID public health plan, I would have a big crush on Philadelphia’s.

The city’s policy is a tiered approach that would automatically reinstate policies (masks, proof of vaccination, other mandates) if cases and hospitalizations hit growing levels to help mitigate another uncontrollable wave. The policy was developed with the most vulnerable communities within Philadelphia in mind, and everyone is complying.

And even though the CDC describes Philadelphia’s current level as low risk, these measures are designed to keep cases at low risk.

I’m continuing wear my Barriére KN95 masks indoors and limiting my indoor dining and during geriatric hours, doubling up on my Athletic Greens, and testing 3x a week. Take care of yourselves.

“One person cannot represent everyone.”

All too often, for those who have been the only person-of-color or a certain ethnicity in a room, the only woman in the room, or othered in visible and invisible ways, the weight of feeling like we must represent our group with excellence is crushing.

With this simple quote, my friend Aditi released me of that burden I’ve carried for decades, along with all kinds of aches and pain and limiting beliefs in her yoga and meditation sessions on the Peloton app (I rarely practice with other teachers).

I’m so proud to see her represent our culture, yoga, and being a woman defying definitions at such a high level. And I loved this interview so much.

Disclosure - I am an investor in The Juggernaut.

Could you imagine running out of water? What if you had to plan to get water every few days for your family to survive?

This is something I’ve never had to experience and frankly can’t even fathom. But for so many people who live on reservations, it’s a dark reality - made even darker during a pandemic of a highly transmissible virus, where one of the most effective mitigations is frequent hand washing.

Amanda’s story isn’t unique. Approximately 30% of families across Navajo Nation don’t have clean running water in their homes.

THIRTY PERCENT. Take a moment and let that sink in, and please contribute to Navajo Water Project or DigDeep if you can.

“There's this American idealization of individualism and independence. Honestly, capitalism is a driver of large-scale loneliness, exceptionalism too. We have this focus on improvement and forward motion. Many of us have the impression that we need to be extraordinary.

Loneliness is really endemic to being human, and yet it's so taboo in our culture. Maybe the pandemic has shaken this all up and shifted our perspective.”

Julia Bainbridge is a beacon of calm, measured wisdom on the very noisy Internet, and I’ve very much enjoyed her social media posts, newsletter, and book (especially as I’m continue to re-evaluate my relationship with alcohol).

I loved this interview she gave to Gloria. If you’re looking for more smart folks to follow, she’s it.

No commentary needed. Just read this article.

Reply

or to participate.