What Is #5SmartReads?

Everything you need to know.

#5SmartReads began as I was winding down my blog, in the fall of 2018.

I was looking for a place to find interesting and important news, and some smart folks to discuss it with. It didn’t exist, so I created one.

I began sharing 5 underreported - but incredibly important or interesting - stories every weekday on my Instagram Stories. A weekly newsletter soon followed, then a Facebook group to discuss these reads. And then my podcast launched.

I LOVE curating and chatting about these news stories with you all. But I also have been spending more time on the administrative work - jumping from one social media app to another, and getting sucked into each app every time - than I do on the actual reading, conversing, and Internet sleuthing.

There are also elements of my blog that I miss.

I miss writing.

I miss sharing my favorite things.

I want you to be able to find that exact thing I recommended much more easily.

That’s where this Substack comes in.

The daily newsletter delivers the 5 must read articles and commentary, curated by myself or one of my incredible contributors.

The weekly newsletter is a long read that shares reflections from the week, the books we’ve all read, links to each day’s reads from the week, and the answers to your burning questions.

Reply

or to participate.