2020 Holiday Gift Guide

'tis the season, after all

No introduction needed. Here’s a peek at our holiday traditions, and my favorites gifts that I’ve given and received. If you want some more options, last year’s gift guide has them.

Advent Calendars

This is our first year gifting advent calendar, but I have a feeling they’ll be a tradition before long.

  • Rho and Sri are getting PLAYMOBIL advent calendars (Star Wars for Rho, Back To The Future for Sri). 

  • I gifted myself this Fortum & Mason tea advent calendar. One delightful thing about ordering from them are the salutation options - everything from Mister and Madam to HRH and HRM. As tempted as I was to ennoble myself with the order, I stuck with Madam.

  • My father and the manager of our neighborhood wine store have struck up a friendship over the past 4 years, so I had him select 25 bottles of wine that my father would likely enjoy. I labeled each bottle with a number, and I am selfishly excited to enjoy this gift with him. You could do the same with a Winc delivery!

Ornaments

Pajamas

  • The boys got these Lark Adventurewear pajamas for Christmas Eve. These jammies are cozy, insanely soft, and temperature regulating (keeps them cool in the summer, warm in the winter) and we love them. They hold up better than any other brand’s clothing, so Rhaki will inherit his brother’s pajamas before long.

  • These Naadam cotton cashmere pants were one of the best things I’ve ever gifted Sri, so he’ll have a new pair waiting for him under the tree.

I have a few options for the ladies:

  • Printfresh’s crisp cotton pajamas are gorgeous and bright and spark so much joy. And if you sleep hot (like I do), these will keep you cool and comfortable.

  • Hill House’s Nap Dresses have a lot of hype, but I will defend the Caroline style all day everyday. I own 5 of them (the gauzy cotton for sleep, the flannel and thicker cotton for daytime) and they are PERFECT.

  • I couldn’t wait until Christmas Eve to wear MM.LaFleur’s* new cashmere joggers and hoodie...so I didn’t. They are a splurge, but since we’ll be sheltering in place for months yet, they were worth it for me and might be for you.

Stockings

As a kid, my mom would fill our stockings with toiletries for the upcoming year. I hated it as a kid, but I LOVE it as an adult. Here’s what I’ll be slipping in our stockings this year:

Our Gifting Tradition

We have a tradition where each person receives 1 book, 1 item from their list, 1 little surprise, and 1 donation. Here are some options from each category, for each person:

Kids

Book & Gift Combos

Please buy your books through independent bookstores! I recommend Uncle Bobbies, Harriett’s Bookshop, Semicolon, and The Lit Bar.

Other gifts

  • Bulk Legos, K’nex, or MagnaTiles are a welcome gift that can be added to our kids’ current collection. Bonus tip - pair it with this playmat/storage bag in one.

  • My aunt gifted Rho this electric drum set, but it turns out Rhaki loves it more than Rho does. That it can be turned off is a big winner in our books.

  • Puzzle Huddle makes beautiful kids’ puzzles that are the best quality I’ve come across (and features Black and Brown kids, giving my own a sense of representation in their toys). I keep a few of them on hand for gifts.

  • This activity center was Rho’s gift for his first Christmas, and this play kitchen was for his second. With the exception of the oven door in the kitchen, both have held up beautifully over the years and Rhaki is thoroughly enjoying them. 

  • Rhaki lives up to his namesake (he’s named after famed fictional boxer Rocky) and is always running, climbing, and moving. This indoor playground is his first big gift that’s solely his. May it keep him occupied and out of my cabinets this winter! 

Adults

Books

  • HRH: So Many Thoughts On Royal Style is the PERFECT book for any Royal Family lovers. It’s as beautiful as it is informative, and one of my favorite books from the year. 

  • My husband LOVES Star Trek, and there have been so many incredible book releases from this world over the past couple of years. He’s requested Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years, and we own and love Picard: Countdown, Picard: The Last Best Hope, and The Autobiography of Kathryn Janeway.

  • Nadiya Hussein’s Time To Eat: Delicious Meals for Busy Lives is SO good. SO SO GOOD. If you loved her Netflix show, you’ll feel the same about this excellent cookbook.

  • Grief might be the word of 2020, and there is no better book than Modern Loss to help you feel less alone as you’re navigating your own. This book has helped me through the losses of uncles, my cousin who’s like a sister, and most recently the man who’s like my second father.

  • How To Drink Wine is a beautiful gift for the wine fans in your life. And my own book How To Pack: Travel Smart for Any Trip makes for a great gift for anyone itching to travel in a post-pandemic world. 

  • For The Love Of Books is a beautiful book for home design and book lovers alike. It’s one of the titles I find myself grabbing and flipping through when I need to get lost in something beautiful. 

  • The All Souls Trilogy is one of my all-time favorite series, and this gorgeous set is the perfect way to gift them.

  • I Am Pilgrim is the book that I’ve recommended across the board, and rarely gets a poor review. It’s especially great for those who want to read more but don’t know what to read.

Gifts

The best gift I ever received was this s’more maker, from my husband about 6 years ago. I mentioned it every year, because it’s the kind of randomly brilliant gift any one would love. But here are some other options as well

  • I know there are some mixed reviews about the Always Pan, but I use mine every day (and multiple times a day) and I LOVE it. If your cooking is mostly on the stovetop and you don’t need to transfer it to the oven, it’s a great gift (which my parents are loving). I would pair them with this Brightland* gift set, which features the most delicious olive oil and vinegars I’ve ever tasted. 

  • One of my favorite things ever is the HigherDose infrared sauna blanket, and it’s the item I missed the most when we stayed in Pennsylvania for four months. I’m gifting one to my parents (both use ours regularly when they’re visiting), and 

  • My Click And Grow garden has brought me a lot of joy all fall, and will continue to do so all winter. If you have someone who took up gardening earlier this year and is dreading the winter, this is the PERFECT gift for them.

  • A Courant wireless charging mat is one of those items that you don’t realize the value of until you have it. It charges my AirPods and my battery phone case super quickly, looks beautiful on my nightstand, and I would have asked for it if I didn’t already own it.

  • Dagne Dover bags have been a favorite of mine and my family since they launched. My dad loves the backpack, my mom loves this laptop bag and this crossbody, and this diaper bag is beloved by myself, my husband, and our incredibly nanny. Their Silver Puff collection is so fun, and I treated myself to their Micah crossbody

  • I’ve learned so much from MasterClass (leadership, gardening, cooking) and it’s one of those things no one really NEEDS, but makes for a perfect gift for those who keep meaning to learn this or that or for your friends who just know a lot and keep learning.

  • I’m partnering with Minted^ to help promote their Modern Heart Snapshot, but it really is a wonderful gift (especially for grandparents who haven’t been able to see their kids and grandkids due to the pandemic). 

Little Luxuries (Gifts Under $100)

  • Scrumptious Wicks makes my favorite candles, and this gift set is a wonderful item for yourself or someone else. I would pair it with this accessory set.

  • We always do a few puzzles during the holidays, and Whiled’s* are beautiful, incredible quality, and so cheery. Pair one of their puzzles with this puzzle mat.

  • Effie’s Paper mugs are so cheery and fun, and I like to drink from mine while I’m working for a pick-me-up. I’d pair it with Harney & Sons Christmas tea for a great co-worker gift.

  • For the friend that’s embracing outdoor dining in colder climates, a Chappywrap kid’s blanket + a Baggu bag will help keep them warm and to keep it stored when not in use. 

  • If you think all spices are created the same, you’ve never tried Diaspora. I’d pair a few jars with these spatulas (which work better than any I’ve ever tried and don’t hold onto turmeric stains - a win). 

  • This outlet cube is one of the most practical things I own and one of the best received gifts I’ve ever given. Festive and indulgent? No. Absolutely necessary? Yes.

  • I own an embarrassing number of Phenomenal sweatshirts, but it’s because they’re truly the best and each supports an amazing cause. My dad is a fan as well, and he’s getting the Girl Dad sweatshirt this year.

  • Taking up needlepoint again last year was one of the best gifts I gave myself. Unwind Studio's needlepoint kits are beautiful and the wool and larger mesh make them a great option for beginners. They are based in Europe, so give yourself some extra time for shipping. Thorn Alexander also has some great beginner kids and a free beginner guide

  • I get so many questions and compliments about my Chic Geeks laptop case, and with good reason. It’s beautiful and durable and one of the best things I’ve bought for myself. 

  • Small Packages* are one of my go-to gifts no matter the occasion, and their Women In Food box and Hygge box are perfect additions to their regular lineup.Use code HITHA2 for 10% off your order!

  • If you want to send a gift to someone but don’t have their address, e-mail them a Loop & Tie. They have a ton of price AND category galleries, and your recipient gets to pick what they want and have it sent wherever they are.

Gifts That Keep Giving (Subscripitons)

  • My Silk + Sonder monthly planners* are my saving grace - they keep me centered, mindful, and offloads all the things swirling in my mind onto paper. Code HITHA15 gets you 15% off.

  • Headspace^ keeps me sane, focused, and helps me sleep. It also helps calm my kids down too. My link will get you 25% off a subscription, which is a great gift for yourself or any other stressed out person in your life.

  • My husband loves his Angel’s Cup coffee subscription, which delivers incredible beans every month and lets you save your favorites in their app. Given that he’s been a subscriber for years and still gets excited with every new delivery…it’s high praise.

  • Remember in June when many of us posted black squares on their Instagram and pledged to support Black owned businesses? One way I’ve been doing that is with my BOM Box subscription* from BOM (Black-Owned Market), and it’s introduced me to some amazing brands that have become regular purchases.

  • Libro.fm allows you to buy audiobooks and support your favorite independent bookstore with your purchases. I’ve been a member for over a year and have gifted memberships to new moms, friends, and family members. Code HITHA gets you 2 free audiobooks when you gift or start a membership.

Items denoted by an * are companies that I’m a proud investor or advisor in. Companies denoted by an ^ are ones that I’ve had paid partnerships with, but inclusion in the gift guide is because I truly love them.

Reply

or to participate.